Buy new 05 or used 03? Newbie here :)

manganos

Veteran Member
TDI
not yet
Ok I have a small problem. I NEED to get rid of my 2003 Dodge 2500 diesel. I just got a promotion at work and now need to drive 110 miles a day round trip instead of 12 miles round trip. (yes the pay is that good!!) and I need something more economical. The Dodge gets 18.5 mpg and I'm looking at the TDI Jetta. Dealer has a new 05 5spd with leather, ESP for $22,645 and not willing to deal too much plus low balled my trade in. Another used car dealer (large franchise) has an 03 TDI with cloth seats , 5speed, cold weather package for $15998. The 03 has 27k miles. What would you do? Anything to look for when I check out the 03? Help. I'm going tomorrow and may have them transfer the 03 so I can check it out. Thanks for all the info. Chris

Keli_OR

Veteran Member
TDI
'15 black Sportwagen SE, '01 silver Jetta GLS, '00 green Beetle
Personally I think that at 27K the '03 is practically new.

Depending on where you live, the cold weather package is really nice to have. I have an '01 with 65K and it still feels new. The cloth seats are considered easier to take care of than the velour ones (which I have) but leather is nice too. I don't have ESP on my car but most report that it's a great feature.
$15K for a diesel with low miles isn't a bad deal. I would ask to see all maintenance receipts and have them look up the dealer maintenance record for you (assuming they had the maintenance done at a dealer).

Other than that, it's really a matter of personal preference regarding color and interior.

The moonroof is a nice feature to have as well as monsoon stereo unless your going to put in something aftermarket.
You're going to spend a lot of time in this car, I would go for the one that has what you want inside.

Keli

TornadoRed

Top Post Dawg
TDI