10,000 mile service, without going broke

vinvwtdi

TDI
2003 Jetta, Platinum Grey/Grey Leather
Hello Everyone. This is my first post to the TDI club, although I've been a reader for a while. Here is my question. I am a resident of the SF Bay area, and I'm in need of my 10k mile service. This is my second TDI I've owned, and expensive service is something I'm used to, but I'm wondering if anyone knows of a good location in the area that might be a bit on the cheaper side. The dealership I bought the car from usually charges upwards of $80 just for an oil change, so I'm assuming the 10k will cost me well over $100. Being a TDI owner, I'm obviously not afraid to drive, so any recommendations in the area would be great. Something VW certified, knowledgeable in TDIs, and not a total rip. Thanks everyone! and happy easter!

tdi369

Veteran Member
TDI
1999.5 golf white
why do you need service for 10000miles. you have change your oil at 5000miles already. just filled up the tank and drive and enjoy your tdi.

classen

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta 2003 Platinum Gray
If I recall, you will need a new oil filter and an oil change.
You should do this yourself to allow for some quality bonding time with your car. Oil filters can be had on eBay for about $7 when purchased in quantities of 5 or more. Remember to use the proper oil for your TDI engine. Many people have recommended Mobil Delvac($25/4 liters), but there are other suitable oils. Just make sure the oil meets the specs outlined in your owners manual.

You should also drain the water from your fuel filter, but every body I've ever talked to says this is not necessary (you'll end up replacing the fuel filter at 15 or 20K).

Other than that I think you need to rotate your tires front to back. This is a good opportunity to practice using your car jack so you'll be better prepared when/if you every get a flat on the side of 880 in the middle of the night.