am i expecting too much performance of my alh mtdi in mk2 golf?

damac

Veteran Member
TDI
none
i'm not really a techie and don't have motorsport background. before this project i drove many stock 1.6td's in mk1 and mk2 chasis. i want to drive this mk2 golf for a long time for great mileage and also have a new mazda 3 hatchback.
i want power on tap for a freeway merge, pass, etc. i just tried to race the car onto my ramp and maybe i just beat the mazda as far as merging speed @ 80mph. lower gears are more revvy i guess but fifth gear is lacking. i can't see lugging this car at all, i see boost lag on the gauge and then it will start to pull a tad and i think hit governer?
i will be cruising at a few psi boost slam pedal down and it will hit 21 max boost so far, 1300+ egt. i don't understand any relation to the fueling, my boost now, governor mod, etc.
here is a video of it running.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88-hIKBVEOs

Last edited:

samuraitd

Veteran Member
TDI
ahu mtdi samurai swap, 1991 jetta ecodiesel
I'm guessing you're running a rover pump, that's what it appears. I've heard the governors in those are fairly low, not sure if that's true or not. I can cruise my AHU samurai with a 12mm pump down the interstate at 80mph though, so I don't think there's any reason you should have a problem. Maybe you can get away with just upgrading the governor spring?

damac

Veteran Member
TDI
none
I'm guessing you're running a rover pump, that's what it appears. I've heard the governors in those are fairly low, not sure if that's true or not. I can cruise my AHU samurai with a 12mm pump down the interstate at 80mph though, so I don't think there's any reason you should have a problem. Maybe you can get away with just upgrading the governor spring?