Really HORRIBLE noise at start-up, dirt in the Starter?

sqdude

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
Howdy,

My brother just got a 2000 Jetta TDI, Automatic with 175k miles. It's been maintained well and was running great for the first couple days.

On Saturday it started making an absolutely horrible noise each time it starts (doesn't matter if engine is warm or cold). It's so startling that I almost jumped when I turned the key the first time. It's NOT the normal TDI starter noise you get when the engine catches and the starter does a little ERRRRRRR.

This noise sounds like a piece of wood or metal that's been thrust into a fan. It's metallic and rotational. As soon as the engine catches and you release the key from the starting position, the noise stops. The engine sounds 100% normal once it's running.

This is my first time messing with an automatic. I don't think my 5-speed has the little sight hole down on the tranny? Maybe something fell down in there? The car has the top engine cover but no skidplate at all.

Thoughts?

nexus665

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf 4 1.9 ALH MY2002
Hi,

this is a common issue with the starters - the one-way bearing inside it runs dry and the solenoid that's supposed to switch the starter degrades over time. The noise you're hearing is the starter not decoupling fast enough and being driven by the crank shaft with a dry bearing - doesn't sound healthy, I know...

You have two options - remove and service yourself (cleaning stator and rotor surfaces from coal deposits, maybe replacing the brushes, re-lube or replace bearing), or replace.

Chances are, it'll start fine for a while yet - but it won't get better on its own!

Regards

Lensdude_com

Veteran Member
TDI
99.5 MK4 Jetta (ALH) "Betty" (sold), 2005 MK4 Jetta (BEW) "Stinky-Pete"
If the noise can only be reproduced by engaging the starter motor then that's where I would start looking. Maybe a broken tooth on the starter motor or a dry bearing.

Last edited:

Das

Veteran Member
TDI