Engine Start Blocked By Immobilizer P1570

maniek

TDI
2.0 TDI PASSAT
HI

I got problem with my passat b6 2.0tdi. sometimes i can't start engine and sometimes is not a problem.

we scann system and trouble code is p1570 (17978)
engine start blocked by immobilizer, also on display coming message
''short circuit to another valve''
this one we can erase but after few minutes coming back .
what that mine????

also other trouble code is p1699 (18107)
powertrain data bus :
missing message from steering wheel. that one we can't erease at all.
this code is all the time.

please give me idea what i should do next.

best regards
maniek

pruzink

Veteran Member
TDI
GLS, 2004, silver
Hi there, this is a copy & paste of a previous post written by someone that was very familiar with the imobilizer:
"
As someone who basically gets paid to hotwire cars for a living (I am a 12V electronics installer by trade.... remote starters), I can tell you a few things:

1) Main issue is breakage on the actual antenna wires leading from the reader to the cluster. They are very small...... 28ga or so. In the cold, moving the column a lot will do this.

2) The RFID pellet on the VW keys lives along the outer edge of the key.... for those of you with valet keys, the two halves of the head pop apart. You will see a torpedo shaped glass pellet. This is the RFID pellet. It is in roughly the same location on the switchblade key. It is not accessable without doing major damage to the key (irreparable) on the switchblade key. The antenna around the chamber in the column reads using it's outer edge, like 1/16" or so, and towards the interior of the car. Simply gluing the pellet to the back of the ignition switch, or even the antenna itself will not read. It is an extremely low power, narrow window for the reader (micro watts)....... and the pellet pretty much needs to be within 1/8" of the antennas fronte (visible) side.