Boost issue

Zacho

TDI
2015 GSW
OK. When driving my car (01 tdi golf) When I get to 3100 rpms there seems to be a boost "lag". This is most noticeable in 3rd gear. Now I was "educated" that Lag is not the term used, but it seems to be the best I've found to describe what happens. Boost is great until then when, it seems to stop or fall off or "lag" behind the pace the turbo was on. RPMs still increase, but at a much slower rate. This doesn't seem to happen when the temp is cooler. I'm not a mechanic by any means nor do I try to be. just looking for some help here. The reason i'm trying to get this figured out is an 03 tdi golf was in the shop I use and blew up. Their turbo wasn't boosting at all. They tried replacing it and that didn't work. At some point the car was running and suddenly Rev'd up. They turned the car off but it continued to run and slowly rev down then seized. The issue I'm having has been described as some what the same as what this other car was doing before the turbo quit completely. Now I've decided to start w/ the Boost sensor before the MAF sensor. Since I saw some rust forming on the housing next to a screw, and its cheaper. Any other sugestions?

Thanks, Zach

rdkern

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Passat 1997 silver (sold after 11 years), Jetta 2000 atlantic blue
Zacho said:
OK. When driving my car (01 tdi golf) When I get to 3100 rpms there seems to be a boost "lag". This is most noticeable in 3rd gear.
Now I've decided to start w/ the Boost sensor before the MAF sensor. Since I saw some rust forming on the housing next to a screw, and its cheaper. Any other sugestions?
Sounds like MAF to me - generally a flaky MAF is likely to cause this type of thing. MAP sensors generally don't cause this type of problem, and if they do, you generally get a MIL.

Zacho said: