Soooo New! Save me from my ignorance please!

Odysseus50

TDI
None. Yet...
Wow, great forum. I've been reading a lot. But I'm very new to this subject. I have no experience with the Jetti or diesel cars.

I am looking to buy a 2001 with around 140,000 miles. I have the carfax report, which includes:

07/29/2009 84,627
Maintenance inspection completed
Front wiper blades/refills replaced
Oil and filter changed
Timing belt/water pump/tensioner/idler replaced
Antifreeze/coolant flushed/changed

09/22/2010 103,841
Recommended maintenance performed
Coolant temperature sensor replaced
Cooling system checked
Brakes checked
Drivability/performance checked

Only 2 owners, first one did a lot of maintenance. The second owner only had it for less than two years and 30,000 miles. Price is around $6000.

1.) Does this seem like a good deal?
2.) I am going to have it checked by a professional before I buy but what should I look for and ask?

My dream, and please don't hesitate to squash it with cold hard facts, is to make my own biodiesel fuel and kiss the gas stations goodbye.

3.) Is this realistic?
4.) Is there a method of production that you can recommend?

Thank you for all the information.

50anglia

TDI
Well after being being on the site a while, although never owning an A4, from what I've read on here, the first question would be is it an automatic (I'm sure someone will pipe in on this) which is apparently bad news. Other than that, I believe the timing belt was changed early and seems like a fair price.

Odysseus50

TDI
None. Yet...
Well after being being on the site a while, although never owning an A4, from what I've read on here, the first question would be is it an automatic (I'm sure someone will pipe in on this) which is apparently bad news. Other than that, I believe the timing belt was changed early and seems like a fair price.