Brake job woes

jmsparks

TDI
2010 JSW, 2011 Golf 2door
First time posting here, long time lurker. Had hoped my first post wouldn't be embarrassing, but...

At 110,000 miles my 2010 JSW needed new rear brakes. I've never done my own maintenance before, but I decided, "Why not? A brake job is supposed to be easy!" I ordered pads, rotors, the piston compression tool, a set of triple squares, and borrowed a friend's floor jack and stands.

Small probably relevant detail: I got the "racing pads" from IDparts. Because why not? Seemed like a fun option considering my driving style. Shorter life and more brake dust warning noted, I figured I could deal with that. Friend told me later that racing pads are also noisy, which I noted as true and I chalked up to experience.

Now here's the problem: About 9 weeks, maybe 4,000 miles, and those pads are GONE and the rotors are worn down by several mm. This became apparent a couple days ago when they the pads started scraping on the lip on the rotors.

So here's the question: Is it just that racing pads really do go that quick, or did I do something else wrong? I'm guessing it's the latter because "shorter life" in my mind would indicate 1/3 or so the life of regular pads, not 1/20.

Any suggestions before I run out and buy new rotors and pads and make the same mistake(s) all over again? The wife says I should take it to the shop but I refuse to accept defeat (yet).

Last edited:

AnotherPerson

Veteran Member
TDI
1999 Beetle
Some race pads do wear very quick. Rotors you want to get good quality so they last longer.

I would look into hawk or brembo rotors. Hawk pads are also very good quality if you don't get the race line. Personally if I could go back I would have put the wagner thermoquiet pads front and rear. My basic auto parts pads leave a lot to be desired that were put on but it was budget based as it was at the same time as clutch and timing belt.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

meerschm

Top Post Dawg
TDI