What does an ALH with low/no compression sound like when it turns over?

csb

Veteran Member
TDI
2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 Jetta TDI's, 2000 Golf TDI, 2005 Passat TDI
I'm an import mechanic, however, my experience with diesel motors is a work-in-progress. I recently purchased an ALH Jetta that will crank normally but will not start. I was told by the dealer who took it in on trade (a VW dealer) that is had "no compression in the cylinders". The timing belt looked good upon visual inspection which I realize doesn't mean much. No immobilizer/key issues, no stored codes (checked with RossTech), fuel is at the injectors, etc. I am used to gas engines having a very "unique" sound when they have low/no compression and turn over. This ALH sounds just like my other ALH diesels, though. I have NOT performed a compression test yet but that is my next plan.

jettawreck

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Jetta and 2003 Jetta
Quit cranking it (not that it probably matters anymore) and inspect the TB system carefully. Only a couple reasons for no compression, if in fact there is little/none, and they aren't good. If the TB is intact, properly tensioned, and rotates when cranking then check the compression.
Not compression related, but is the anti-shutter valve open when cranking?
Low compression that is not TB related is often due to hydrolocking which bends the rods.

Powder Hound

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'00 Golf 4dr White 5sp, '02 Jettachero 5sp, Wife's '03 NB Platinum Gray auto(!)
If you are in doubt about whether there is compression, just put a wrench on the crank bolt and turn it over by hand. That will tell the tale in 1 revolution.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
If the anti-shudder valve sticks shut, the engine won't have compression. I've had a LOT of cars towed here from dealers like that.

csb

Veteran Member
TDI