newbie here w/ a '03 Golf TDI 5spd

Carlsbad101

TDI
'03 Golf TDI manual
Hey everyone. I've been a gearhead all my life... Been doing the horsepower and truck thing most of the time.... The gas prices in socal have gone up so much I decided to finally pull the trigger on a TDI... I've always wanted one.
I'm looking forward to learning more about these great cars.

Just picked up this single owner Golf...

Cbad101

kiva822

Veteran Member
TDI
'03 Wagon
welcome to the club, chad!

What is the timing belt history of the car? How many miles on it and the car, itself?

Did you get any maintenance records?

read the FAQ at the top of the 101 page as well as the info over at www.myturbodiesel.com

read, read read..

Welcome to fred's!!

matt

Corsair

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS TDI 5M
Sweet! Congrats and welcome!
Tons of great info on this forum. my 0.02:
kiva x2
Spend your initial time getting a clear picture of the maintenance on the car.
Especially focus on making sure you have verifiable timing belt history. See related posts. If you discover the TB needs to be done, don't rush to the nearest place who says they will do it. Find a guru (listed on this site). Looks like a really clean car. Enjoy!

3800rpmDiesel

Veteran Member
TDI
'03 Jetta Wgn 5spd w/ mods, '03 Wgn 5spd stock, '05 Passat Wgn - chainless.
In addition to what others have said - change all of your filters & fluids. Unless you can verify the correct ones were used. even still it's good piece of mind & cheap then you know where you're starting. same with brake fluid flush.

make sure once it's warmed up you rev it high to shift (will help keep all the soot out of the intake & turbo); and do at least on WOT run per week....

ENJOY!

Carlsbad101

TDI
'03 Golf TDI manual
Thanks!