Just bought a 2001 Jetta GLS TDI - need mechanic in NYC

delver

TDI
2005 Jetta TDI Wagon Auto
I'm a total newbie. Haven't even owned a car in 10 years. Anyway, I just bought a TDI with 145K on it.
http://newyork.craigslist.org/stn/car/444818300.html

I took it to a mechanic in Brooklyn before the purchase and they hooked up the computer and did a pretty thorough inspection. The place was called L & M Foreign cars
http://local.yahoo.com/details?id=11309452

They seemed very honest and helpful and have very positive reviews above. But does anyone have experience with them or recommend a specific shop in the NYC area for TDIs? I didn't see any in the mechanic thread.

Here's a list of problems or things the car needed that they came up with:

- major tune up

- glow plugs (I think the computer gave a diagnoses of "Intermittent DTCs 01 > 16764/PO380 03 : Glow Plug/Heater Circuit: Malfunction -Q6-")

- front brakes and rotors

- AC not working (very well)

- timing belt (done once at around 70K)

- cabin filter

- knocking sound in the front end (probably struts)

They quoted me $800 for the timing belt and $1000-2000 to do most of the necessary maintenance. They say they do "the water pump and other stuff" when they do the timing belt.

Besides that they said it was a pretty good deal, so I bargained down to $7000 for the car.

So, does any one have advice for a total novice? I'm planning to drive this car across the country in December, BTW. I should have the timing belt done immediately, right? The knocking sound is kind of unnerving (when you go over bumps or the car rocks back and forth), any suggestions on that?

Thanks! Sorry if this stuff is answered in other posts, I did some searching and couldn't find anything.

Flytofish

Veteran Member
TDI
None yet, but soon!
Check here for a local trusted shop:
http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=130044