36 mpg's on 2002 5 speed / tracking mpg's

days-like-this

Veteran Member
TDI
future A3 TDI-er
36 mpg\'s on 2002 5 speed / tracking mpg\'s

I'm new to tdi's and just posted on the tdi101 section about mpg's to see what others were getting. I also read through some of the archives in this forum relating to venting, mpg's, etc.

I just got 36 mpg's on my third tank and I'm bummed, or at least worried that something could be wrong (as I've got a 5 speed)...my other two tanks were 47 and 41. Should I be concerned about this? Also, I want to try venting to get some consistency. When I filled up this last time it only went to 12.6 gallons. So if I'm understanding correctly, you'll always know you are full with venting, whereas if you don't, some pumps will shut off at different points and sensitivities?

Friends in California have also mentioned that Utah is supposed to have pretty crappy diesel compared to California...should I consider using an additive?

Lastly, could someone post a link to a great mileage spreadsheet...I read about those in the archives as well. Thanks

days-like-this

Veteran Member
TDI
future A3 TDI-er
Re: 36 mpg\'s on 2002 5 speed / tracking mpg\'s

okay, I just thought that the window sticker says 41/50...you'd think that if there was a possibility you would get 36, they would list that as the low. I just need to get some more miles on it and I'm sure everything will evein out. Thanks-

schnabba

Veteran Member
TDI
golf GLS 2001 white

average it over time - I get some strange ones occasionally, and unless you fill up at the same place every time, the pump may or may not shut off at the same point.

If the trend stays low, then there is a problem. ALSO, you can check your snow screen - my fuel mileage was dropping, since about 15,000 miles, and the snow screen was clogged up pretty good. Check that goofy thing, and then check the air cleaner too.