Camshaft Questions

1854sailor

Resident Curmudgeon
TDI
2015 Golf SE SportWagen, 2015 Golf SE Hatch Back.
Pretty sure I'll be needing a new camshaft soon and I have a few questions.

Cascade German's website indicates that folks have used the BEW camshaft because of better longevity. Has anyone here used the BEW cam? How different is the profile? What are your thoughts?

There are three camshafts available, Febi and Kobelschmidt - both cast, and AMC - machined billet steel. Anyone here have experience with any of these?

Thanks!

imo000

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 M-B ML320 Diesel & '05 Passat TDI Manual 5-Speed
This was discussed plenty of times over the years in detail. Use the search option, you'll get better results than asking people to retype what was already written.

1854sailor

Resident Curmudgeon
TDI
This was discussed plenty of times over the years in detail. Use the search option, you'll get better results than asking people to retype what was already written.
I'm not a newbie. I did that, and didn't find the answers to my specific questions. Thanks for nothing...

Last edited:

d0u8l3m

Veteran Member
TDI
B5.5 Passat
I'm not a newbie. I did that, and didn't find the answers to my specific questions. Thanks for nothing...
You definitely didn't search hard enough....

Go get yourself an OEM BHW cam from the dealer or anywhere you can get an original one. The BEW cam will give you less power unless you tune the engine to compensate, and if you want to tune the engine you need to first drop cash to do a bsm delete and manual transmission swap or bad things will probably happen when your right foot gets into it. Colt cams are overpriced in the states because of Kerma TDI, and give you minimal gains (not worth it because of the high price). Same for franks cam (which would be worse since its a bew profile, again unless you tune the engine).