Do you guys run a fuel additive in your TDI's?

loanman

TDI
2005 Passat TDI
I am new to the VW TDI's but not new to diesels in general. All I have ever owned is diesel trucks.

in my diesel trucks everyone recommends a diesel fuel additive due to the Ultra Low Sulfer diesel fuels, do you guys recommend them in the TDI's?

if so which do you run?

in my trucks I use POWER SERVICE Cetane

DonL

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Jetta TDI wagon (BEW)
additive

I add B99 to any diesel that does not already have biodiesel in it. I figure between 2 and 5 percent is the right amount. I do not exceed 5 %.

blaz

Veteran Member
TDI
05 Passat
Up here we get Power Service "White Bottle" for the winter, helps reduce fuel gelling, adds cetane, etc.. They've also got a "Grey Bottle" that some people use in the summer but, so far, my passat's run fine with regular diesel in the summer.

But in the winter I'll use the white bottle, especially when making the long run up from Florida in mid-winter when I may be burning a summer mix diesel from Florida when I hit the West Virginny mountains.

Smokerr

Veteran Member
TDI
Passat Wagon GL,2005,Silver
Up here in Alaska we do not need gell protection, fuel is winterized (100% sure same is true for Canada.

That said, the lubricity standard for fuel was not as robust as the engine./injection mfgs wanted. Compromise. How much of an issue unknown, but it does not hurt.

Ditto a bit better cetane used to be good. ULSD process increases cetane, no one is saying how much. Hmmmm. Possibly no longer an issue.

The other reason I use it was that it stopped the smoking (ergo Smokerr). We had nasty 500 ppm when I got Passat, saw another one smoking as well. Suspect the DOC got messed up (and good luck with convinginc VW).