Replacing hydraulic lifters help...

willyghost

TDI
Audi A4 110HP (1997)
Hey guys,

I have a 1997 audi A4 1.9 Tdi AFN engine, car has been making a knocking sound so im gonna replace the hydraulic lifters, i am not a mechanic y any means im just handy if i have the correct tools and a good guide :) Had a look around the forum but didnt find what i was looking for... Anyone know of a guide or tutorial to replace hydraulic lifters on my TDI ? I bought an 8 lifter set of Meyle lifters so i guess they are OK... Let me know thanks !

Franko6

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
Jetta, 99, Silver`
First off, the Meyle brand is not your best choice. I use ONLY INA.

Second, replacing lifters without replacing the cam is a mistake. The lifters, if they are bad, are made bad by the cam not working right.

Third, the usual problem for cam followers is a clicking coming from the head. If you have a knock, it's usually from the pistons or rods.

Removal of the cam is required to check your cam followers:

First, you have to get the timing tools. You will need a 6mm pin for the I.P., a tensioner tool, and a cam lock tool, counterhold tool for the cam sprocket, minimum.

Bring the engine to TDC. Loosen the tensioner, Loosen the cam sprocket bolt a few turns, but do not remove it yet. Remove the valve cover.

Remove the cam sprocket: If you have a metal backing plate, there is a hole in it. If it is plastic, you can melt a 1/4" hole with a pencil soldering gun, near the hub of the sprocket. Then, with a long drift punch and 5lb hammer, strike firmly near the base of the hub on one of the spokes and the sprocket will pop off. Now, you can take the sprocket bolt the rest of the way off.

Remove the vacuum pump.

Remove the cam caps. First, remove #1, 3 and 5 caps, then incrementally remove #2 and #4 until cam is loose. Strike the cam with a plastic hammer if it sticks. Cam can now be lifted out.