TDI Advice for New Guy

LubeITMan

TDI
2012 VW Passat 2.0 TDI SEL Premium
Hello all. I've heard a lot of good things about the reliability and fuel economy of the VW TDI vehicles...some online and some from personal testimonies from friends and coworkers. I have an opportunity, perhaps, to get in one. I want to know if there are any things I need to watch out for, ask about, or be aware of going into the buying/investigation stage. Here's what I'm looking at.

2012 VOLKSWAGEN PASSAT 4DR SDN 2.0L DSG TDI SEL PREMIUM

69,000 miles, one owner. Can you weigh in? I would appreciate any feedback and advice. I'm a newbie here so I will be learning as I go. I do drive a diesel truck now (GMC Duramax) but nothing like this will be.

LubeITMan

TDI
You know, I bet you're right. I bet everything I've ever wanted to know about this vehicle has already been written somewhere out there. I never would have thought of that. You just saved me countless hours of wading through information that may or may not be relevant depending on if I even purchase the vehicle. Awesome...thanks so much for your willingness to pass along your "veteran" knowledge to a newcomer.

volmaniac

Veteran Member
McFadden's Ford, Stones River NMP M'boro, TN
TDI
02 Golf GLS
The generation that you are looking for is here:

http://forums.tdiclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=86

I really do not know much about the 2012 models but there are lots of members here that do.

Yeah I joined this forum about 3 months before I got my TDI. After lurking for about 3 or 4 more months. Smart on your part for doing your due diligence at the tdi brain-trust.

panthers89fan90

Veteran Member
TDI
'03 Jetta TDI