www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) > Non TDI Upgrades

Non TDI Upgrades A collection of non TDI engine upgrades, but upgrades for TDI vehicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 18th, 2004, 09:05   #1
tongsli
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Oem Vw Mfd Navigation Systems

I'm trying to get a head count of the TDI folks who have sourced the OEM VW NAVI. I know some of you but would like an accurate list so we can share information on installation and any operational issues.

Sorta like a little support group. THIS IS NOT a How-to thead. It's intended to be a resource for those of us who have already installed the MFD Navigation System.

If you have new information to add or share, please post. Questions regarding installation will be moved to the ORIGINAL "how-to" thread, located HERE

Danix - MFD-G, FIS, TMC, fimware:2003, Phatbox,

BlueCTTDI

Chaseone - MFD-D

Coolwht - MFD-G, FIS, TMC, firmware:2003, Phatbox

Classen - MFD-G,

DCTDIwagon - MFD-G, FIS?, firmware:2003

Jettaproblems - MFD-D, FIS, firware:2003

JwaltersTDI - MFD-G, FIS, firware:2003

Mike Anderson MFD-D, FIS

Mako26 MFD-G, FIS, TMC,

NewJettaGuy - MFD-G, TMC, firmware:2003, Phatbox

Occams Razor - MFD-G, FIS, TMC, firmware 2003, Phatbox

Penclnck - MFD-G, FIS, TMC, firmware 2003, Phatbox

Pheller - MFD-G, FIS, TMC, firmware:2001, Phatbox, 3pmdev

RamonR - MFD-D, firmware:2002, Phatbox

SVTWEB - MFD-D, FIS, firmware:2002

Tyler Gee - MFD-Unit ?

Tongsli - MFD-D & G, FIS (two vehicles)TMC, firmware: 2000 & 2003, Phatbox

Tomo - MFD-G, firmware:2003, Phatbox

VWFlappie


Miscellaneous URL's

May, 2003 Passat RNS, DSP, telephone +cd changer PDF
Software Coding for MFD thread
General Cluster Coding from MFA thread
Fakra Connectors

Please add these to the first post:
Excellent Newbie guide by penclnk
Double DIN to MFD Navi upgrade

Last edited by tongsli; June 23rd, 2006 at 11:09.
tongsli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2004, 23:04   #2
larrs
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ardsley NY USA
Default MFD Menus: 3+6 configuration

Guys....

I was wondering you could please look up the following information:

1.Turn on your NAVI
2. PRess the 3 + 6 buttons simultaneously
3.Look up the number after NAV HW= <font color="red"> it should either be 1001 or 1002 </font>


4. Press the right round button AKA the Enter button
5.Look up the number after STAMP: <font color="red">it's the second line </font> Please post the date you've got.


If you have the following then you have a G-unit

MCM SW 2322R/912C/
SH SW:0B16/0102
NAV SW : 381.13/967.07/NO ROM
NDB SW : 384.17/383.17/----
KONTRAST:48
NAV HW:1002/36416
PROJECT:VWZ_DYN 00KW14
STAMP /: MAR 22 2002/11:03:28
USER: FED 2HI/DEP:N
VER NAME:
MCM:00 KOPRO 00SH:00KOMBI:0000


thanks!

Lito

Regarding the VAG-COM, I think you need to run a K-Wire from over the the OBD connector. Read this:
K-wire

Did you set the coding on the Navi for your tire circumference and for 8 pulses? Try this, if you haven't already done it:

"Press the NAV button and access the system menu by pressing buttons 3 and 6 at the same time. When the version menu appears, press the Flag Destination button and wait for the calibration menu to appear.

"Set the Impulse to 8

"Set tire size according to this table:

175/80 R14 1940mm
185/55 R15 1785mm
195/65 R15 1935mm
205/45 R16 1800mm
205/55 R16 1930mm
205/50 R17 1945mm
225/45 R17 1930mm

"Or use the exact circumference of your tire, in millimeters.

"After the settings are complete, you need to drive for 10 miles to give the Navigation MFD enough time to finely calibrate itself for distance and speed. "

I don't know about your window.

Where did you connect the wire for switched power (the red one)? If you connected it to the headlights, that's why the unit powers off with the ignition. Mine does the same thing.
larrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 21:45   #3
penclnck
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default Combined Penclnck Threads

For those who went from double DIN to Navi and need the CD adaptor cable, I've got all my parts in and will be able to ship the first lot of them out by Thursday (hopefully).

CD changer adaptor and GPS cable

Also, after never being able to find anyone to sell me the GPS cable, I've made my own. I'm getting 8 satellites, I think one of them is the Satellite of Love.

FWIW, I purchased that TMC, hopefully I'll be able figure it all out and make it work. If so, expect full details.



The silver box in front of the clutch pedal, that is the TMC box. Slapped it in place with electrical tape (nice). The CAN BUS wires are tapped using IDT (scotch locks... junk). I'll be going back and doing the job right with a custom bracket for the box and criming my wires in place.

And here is the pudding of proof my friends:







I'm atta here... off to the drive in movies (guess how I'm going to find it).

Just put this up on the VWNavi.com site, figure it would go nicely here, ... will save space and post it as the URL:

http://4130-products.com/tdi/pigtail-adaptor.gif

Double DIN pigtail to Navi plug... what goes where... please inform me of any screw ups I made, or any suggestions.

Sleepy time folk....Zzzzzzz

Few quick pics of the TMC mounting bracket and it mounted in place. A friend of mine made the bracket for me. The mounting holes in the TMC are super tiny and I ended up having to tap them out a little to get the screws I had on hand to fit (not a big deal).

http://www.4130-products.com/tdi/tmc1.jpg

http://www.4130-products.com/tdi/tmc2.jpg

http://www.4130-products.com/tdi/tmc3.jpg

It is mounted just to the right of the steering colum, plenty of room there. This worked out a lot better than the electrical tape I was first usig to mount the TMC.

Side note... got me new wheels today:

http://www.4130-products.com/tdi/newwheel2.jpg

Got rid of the 15" fuglies for $300 while I was balancing the tires. Today has been a good day.

OK, snapped a pic of where to stuff the pigtail adaptor:



I also finally got around to hooking up the radio antenna today:


This is one of the cables that came with the TMC box I purchased. I cut off the end that would normally plug up to the button style single DIN antenna cable and crimped on the correct fitting for the double DIN lead. The silver plug goes the TMC.


And there is is plugged up to the double DIN antenna plug. So I've now got the radio antenna going though the TMC so if for some reason I end up moving to Europe, my car will be ready. Sorry about the blurry pix.
penclnck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2004, 21:10   #4
blitzoid
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC
Fuel Economy: 48/42/37
Default Ignition wire & S-contact Thread

Dan - the wire in question (to give you radio power as with old stereo) is in the steering column. I remember reading about it here a while back, when i installed the panasonic deck. (I found out after the install, so I never modified my switched power) If memory serves, the wire is brown/red stripe, but I would not trust my intuition alone. I'm going to hunt around vortex for a bit and see if i can find it. If i do, i'll post back here.

Also - that "key switched power" is NOT available at the radio. It's controlled through the CAN-BUS.

Good luck.

I actually remembered correctly! (who would have thunk it??!)

http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1504629

that's in the R32 forum, but the result is the same - brown wire/red stripe. Terminates in position #10 in the fuseblock, but can also be found under the steering column.

FROM OCCAM's Razor's Post:

The standard wiring for a 2003 Jetta, (no monsoon), is for Pin 14 of the DD connector, (the one that corresponds to the "power" plug wiring), to go to Pin 86S of the ignition switch which is a brown / red wire.

The Monsoon wiring harness differs in that Pin 14 of the DD goes to the Hood Alarm Switch, (which is also a brown / red wire).

Coincidence? I think not, (damn Germans are too efficient for that!)

Haven't quite figured out if it somehow has the same path, (eventually), as the standard wiring.

When I try my installation I will check current there with the key on and see what happens.

I would love to plug one more wire into the DD adapter, (Pin 14 for those who are keeping track), so I have one less wire to run and have the benefit of the factory protection, (fuses already in place, etc.)!
blitzoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2004, 11:28   #5
Hoffer
Veteran Member
 
Hoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

Quote:
I suspect the euro triplex will only work for GSM.
A lot of US companies are moving to GSM except Verizon Wireless, so it might be worth looking into.
GSM, TDMA, CDMA, PCS, etc. Doesn't necessarily matter. Frequency bands are what matter. Verizon generally uses the "cellular" bands in the US, appeox. 800-900 MHz range, and so did AT&amp;T, for the most part. Sprint and everyone else use the various "PCS" bands, up there around 1.7 GHz or whatever. It's been a couple years since I was working as an RF engineer for Verizon's cellular network.

Anywho, I haven't kept up on it, but I don't think AT&amp;T (or any of the others) got a new (i.e. outside of cellular or PCS) frequency band allotment, so the new GSM service I believe exist in the PCS and cellular bands.

As far as technology, AT&amp;T had to switch because they chose TDMA (vs. CDMA) back in the day. Oops. Verizon and Sprint rolled out CDMA technologies (Verizon in the cellular band, Sprint in the PCS). Who knows what the future will hold. Japan I think it is likes their wideband CDMA stuff, and I'm guessing that what Verizon and Sprint will use as well. Everyone else like GSM. Who knows.

Oh, and then there's NexTel...

Also, I've got the triplex antenna, and if it's tuned to the bands listed above to 0 dB, it should work well with my existing car kit. If only I could find a damn WICLIC adaptor in order to make a "clean" install...

- hoffer
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2004, 19:32   #6
danix
Veteran Member
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

If you are talking about the TMC connector on the left of the navi, above the FM antenna, that already has a wire pigtailed off pin 3 on the black connector, so I think that's set.

I think I just need to figure out the source of my speedo problems. Is it possible that I have a bad cluster and the signal is coming from there, or more likely, that I have a bad speed sensor and the speedo is just doing its job and reporting the signal?










danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 16:14   #7
larrs
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ardsley NY USA
Default Triplex and Cable information

Quote:


Dan, which connector on the triplex is the radio antenna feed?

Thanks,
Larry

From left to right:

Mobile Phone
Radio
GPS
larrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 17:01   #8
PTC
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
TDI(s): HMaracic
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

The VW OEM navi supports both PAL &amp; NTSC AFAIK (you should ask SVTWEB, he added TV tuner to his NAVI).
About the input for XM and DVD, if you maybe didn't notice on the pin-outs, NAVI's video connector is component (RGB, like a computer monitor), not composite (like RCA or S-Video). If you want to connect a composite video source without TV tuner, you need a composite -&gt; component adapter like Dietz 1412 (notice that 1212 is for PAL only), price of the PAL only unit (1212) is over 130 EUR on german ebay.
But, if you get a TV tuner, you can connect your video sources normally if you get a harness (TV-tuner also serves as signal converter from composite to component), you can make one yourself or buy one like Dietz 1230
PTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2004, 07:34   #9
vwtdi04
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario/Miss
TDI(s): Golf
Fuel Economy: 4.5 L/100km
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

I have installed roof antenna (GPS/Radio) from MKV which is the same on Audi A4, and new A3 in europe, I run to problem with making an adapter for radio antenna, it is hard to find connectors that will fit to existing connectors, I had to do complete makeover from new connectors which works fine for now, the radio reception from small antenna is preety good, GPS works well too...
vwtdi04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2004, 07:24   #10
tomo366
TDI Lifer
 
tomo366's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1997
Location: Kensington, Maryland USA
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

tomo366 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 21:05   #11
penclnck
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default VW MFD Navigation System - Resource Thread

Quote:

How about adding a connector right where the wires exit the radio cubby instead so you can disconnect the plug instead of having to pull wires back through when you have to take out the NAVI?
BEHOLD!!!!




Ohhhhh.... ahhhhhh.

I've put in a 4 pin plug for the wires that will be spliced into the car's main harness (Gala, s-contact, K-line, dash lights). This also made it easier for me to split the s-contact and Gala lines nicely. If the Navi is removed from the car, installed wires will remain. I got the plug from Radio Shack.

Prewired TMC in there as well. Power from the s-contact. Both sets of CAN BUS lines are twisted pairs of wire, very twisted pair (I used a drill to make them). Doing this helps keep the signals running about the lines clean.

It isn't really complete, I don't have the terminals for the 26 pin plug just yet. Once I do that, it will be ready.

I've got one more ace up my sleeve for this as well... once the part shows up....
penclnck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 11:10   #12
pheller
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Default

FYI, I burned the input 12V+ fuse in my TMC when I first tried installing it.

The digikey p/n is WK4450K-ND -- $0.67 each.

Also, TMC should be connected to 12v constant. The Navi will put it to sleep after a short time.
pheller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 14:42   #13
penclnck
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default

Please add these to the first post:

http://4130-products.com/gps/newbinavi.html
http://4130-products.com/gps/pigtail-adaptor.gif

The first is the for those new to the Navi scene. The second is the pin out info when going from a double DIN to Navi upgrade.

Also, I am not making wiring harness adapters and kits at this time. I will be making a batch of 10 kits in the future (got most of the parts on hand), but it take like 3.5 hours per kit to make and test... I just don't have as much free time as I use to.
__________________
Pencilneck blah blah blah
penclnck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 13:30   #14
danix
Veteran Member
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Default

I'm running the MFD-G with FIS and TMC, as well as a chipped Phatbox.
I'll have to check my firmware version.
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 18:12   #15
tongsli
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default

Just bought a new Epson printer, check it out!

__________________
RC 3.1,DG pipes,Bosio PP764, Forge SMIC,R32 airbox,FSI/OilLevelSensor,150PDTIP&MAF&Intake Manifold, Bilstein TCs,TT brakes,280mm rears,A3 strut bar,ESP,Folding Mirrors,Aero wipers,Headlight Washers,PDC,Bora Trunk switch,VR6 muffler,4-motion valance, OEM Skid Plate &HIDs,Custom Tails, Zender Spoiler,WE Power,heated Seats,RNS2,MFSW,Anti-dazzle mirror,FIS,IRU,DWA,2nd OBDII,OEM Auto Window,P3 vent gauge, Webasto Thermotop C heater
tongsli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.21671 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 132.50 Kb. compressed to 112.09 Kb. by saving 20.41 Kb. (15.40%)]