New Battery - cooling fans wont shut down

Tnsee894

TDI
2015 Passat TDI SEL Prem
Battery died. Jumped it off to get home. Fans ran after shutting it down. Replaced the battery. Fans started almost immediately. Drove it 30 miles and topped off the tank, as soon as I shut down the engine, the fans come on within 30 seconds and wont shut down. Did I fry a sensor when I jumped it off? Any ideas???

MyAvocation

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2017 Passat SEL TSI
I'm interested in knowing what codes are set. I recommend a VCDS scan, save output and clear. Then take a short drive and scan again (to weed-out residual codes from the dead battery), assuming fans still running after shutdown.

waltzconmigo

Veteran Member
TDI
none
note that i am a newbie and not exactly what one would call a car guy. that being said, my father had this problem on his 2006 gasser passat last summer in hot and humid memphis. the similarities are far from eerie here, so keep this in mind and verify my information with someone more knowledgeable before going this direction. anyway, i get a call that my dad had gone back into the garage hours after shutting down and he said "the fans are still running could you check that website you read". i say sure but first try to start the car and let it run for a few minutes, hoping it was just some gremlin, this did not work. okay, i will begin the search, tell him to take it for a drive for twenty or thirty minutes. he calls again and says still a no-go on the fans shutting off. i tell him to disconnect the battery and wait for word. unfortunately, for you, i do not use the search function here much and could not find the relevant thread. i found a thread where the problem was some connection/sensor under the battery tray (i believe it was red, but this was eight months ago and i did not get to see it with my own eyes) i am just going on memory here. he had that replaced and all is well since. i will call tonight when i get back from work and see if he can pull the wor