Canadian 2011 Golf TDI: Navigation options & security?

tendim

TDI
None yet
G'day group!

First post to the forum but I've been doing some lurking for a few months..

I'm looking into upgrading to a diesel car in a years time, and right now the Golf TDI is at the top of my list. Being from Canada, the only option that is missing that I would like is a navigation, something that is available in the US but not here.

Looking at some of the posts, Canadian users have had great success with installing aftermarket Navigation units (which fixes Bluetooth issues as well?). This sounds like a promising option (some of the installs look really clean and factory-like in appearance), but in installing aftermarket my only concern is security.

I've had two cars broken into the past couple of years because I park at public lots to take public transit to work. In installing aftermarket units that do not have removeable faceplates do you not run the risk of theft? Or are the security features in a stock golf enough to prevent this? I'm thinking thieves will take the smash & grab option if they can, so do people run stock security or upgrade to something louder / more effective?

Thanks for any input!
-10d

MuthaFunk

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI Wagon
I personally kept my security system stock. If the criminals are at all educated in the aftermarket stereo scene they may know of the current security systems that come installed from the aftermarket manufacturers.