www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > Other VW Group TD(I)s

Other VW Group TD(I)s To keep with the theme of VW Diesels, this message area is for discussion of other VW Group Diesels. Yes, TD's are also welcome.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 11th, 2006, 16:44   #1
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default 2.0TDI Cutting out and hesitating at speed & idle

I've had this problem for a week now.

When I start the car, sometimes it will just stall again, then I can start it again and it will run fine.

Then when I am driving I will feel a slight hesitation from the engine, just as if I'd lifted off the throttle, and sometimes more severe feeling like a brief stab on the brakes, sometimes this will trigger the glowplug light to flash

Yesterday it cut out on me in some road works. I drove it straight to the dealers and told them to sort it out since it is under warranty.

Anyone have any ideas what it could be?? I am clueless, it is very odd.

Any help would be appreciated chaps.

- Ben
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 15:10   #2
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default

Anyone have any ideas?!
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2006, 11:59   #3
samspock
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arnold, MD
Default

Most of the people on this forum are in north america and have never seen a car like yours. I wonder if it is similar to the "bucking" issue with 2.0 Passats?
__________________
'15 Jetta TDI S Black

Gone but not forgotten:
'05 Passat TDI GL Shadow Blue
'76 MB 240D "The Bird Slayer"
samspock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2006, 19:39   #4
bhtooefr
TDIClub Enthusiast
ToofTek Inventor
 
bhtooefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newark, OH
TDI(s): None
Default

What is the stock engine in your car? a PD143?

The 2.0TDI Passats that we get here are PD134s. Yes, backwards on purpose.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Upton Sinclair
It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends upon his not understanding it!
bhtooefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2006, 12:01   #5
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhtooefr
What is the stock engine in your car? a PD143?

The 2.0TDI Passats that we get here are PD134s. Yes, backwards on purpose.
It's a 140PD stock with 16V
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2006, 12:03   #6
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default

UPDATE:

The dealers have found out the car is chipped and my warranty will not be honoured, they said the ECU is faulty, so I am having to have one replaced at the cost of 800 pounds.

I went to try and pick the car up yesterday, it cranked for ages and eventually started, but the check engine light and glow plugs lights were both on. I left the car there and told them to hurry up to fix it. The ECU is going to take nearly 2 weeks to arrive.

If I am lucky I'll have it back by the end of the month.

The annoying thing is, they don't even know if the ECU will fix it or not!

This has been a very hard lesson to learn, and I certainly won't be chipping again. The car will stay at standard 140PS!
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2006, 12:43   #7
bhtooefr
TDIClub Enthusiast
ToofTek Inventor
 
bhtooefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newark, OH
TDI(s): None
Default

If the ECU is faulty, contact the chiptuner.

Oh, and I guess someone should've said to have the chiptuner reflash to OE firmware.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Upton Sinclair
It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends upon his not understanding it!
bhtooefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2006, 14:52   #8
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default

bhtooefr: I contacted them, they want to have a look at the ECU, but since the car isn't driveable I can't get it to them until I get it fixed and then I will take them the old ECU and if it is ruined I will send them the bill for the new one.

I have a feeling they didn't re-seal the ECU properly when they chipped it and the ECU has been damaged due to water ingress.
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2006, 02:18   #9
improved
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default

Hi all,

I have a chiptuning company and the ecu in the A4 is inside a box and no way of the water get inside.

I think the problem is in the modification of the maps, ask the chipturner to put the car back to original and you will see that the car run fine.

Regards
improved is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2006, 09:14   #10
Captain_Chaos
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: aa
TDI(s): aa
Default Update

UPDATE:

Dealer rang and they have replaced the ECU and crankshaft position sensor, the car is running fine apparantly.

I am picking it up tomorrow. I don't think there was anything wrong with the ECU I think there was just some problems communicating with it due to the method they used to chip it, I have heard of some folks who have their cars chipped using the bench flash method and the dealers diagnostics can't communicate with it afterwards, I believe this is the problem mine suffered.

It has ended up costing me £903 (Over $1500 US) and 3 weeks without transportation.
__________________
Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDI, 22mil RS4 DRC Rear ARB

Pictures
Captain_Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2020, 14:49   #11
jdmsx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Chaos View Post
UPDATE:

Dealer rang and they have replaced the ECU and crankshaft position sensor, the car is running fine apparantly.

I am picking it up tomorrow. I don't think there was anything wrong with the ECU I think there was just some problems communicating with it due to the method they used to chip it, I have heard of some folks who have their cars chipped using the bench flash method and the dealers diagnostics can't communicate with it afterwards, I believe this is the problem mine suffered.

It has ended up costing me £903 (Over $1500 US) and 3 weeks without transportation.
I had a crankshaft position sensor go on my 2.0tdi too! Looks like you’ve been flunked by the dealer making you buy a new ecu, as they would’ve been able to scan the codes from it before even considering to buy a new one.
jdmsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2020, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16192 seconds with 12 queries
[Output: 97.76 Kb. compressed to 82.00 Kb. by saving 15.76 Kb. (16.12%)]