Sticky turbo actuator?

BakoTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta, MK7
I've read a lot about sticky vanes and vacuum leaks and bad turbo actuators and because of how bad my MPGs have become and how I can't feel comfortable going out of town in this car because of having to go up a hefty hill without a fully operational turbo, I feel like I might have to drop the turbo and clean it out (SO EXCITED!:rolleyes:) . But before I do that, I need your expertise and trained eye.

This short video shows the actuator before turning engine on and during acceleration. I noticed it getting stuck but since I'm not a pro, I trust that you guys will be able to give me some feedback! Thank you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9YH69Yq19o&feature=youtu.be

mrfiat

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI (Reflex Silver) , 2003 Jetta TDI Wagon (Black)
I would disconnect the end of the rod from the turbo. (Remove the C-clip to remove it) When re-installing the C-clip I would tie a string to the clip so you don't lose it. Once you do that then move the turbo actuator by hand and see it moves easily like 3/4". If it doesn't move easily then your turbo is coked up.

You should also disconnect the vacuum line from the N75 valve and test the actuator with the engine off. At 2" to 5" of vacuum it should start moving and at 18" of vacuum it should stop moving.

I just went through a similar thing and it ended up that my turbo actuator was not adjusted correctly. Once I fixed that then the car ran great. :)

Good luck!

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
The Actuator rod is suppose to pull the Arm all the way down solid against the set-screw at start-up and hold it there during engine idle.

I've observed this with the ALH engine in my Vanagon. My Turbo works great, engine performs flawlessly. It is very easy to slide under the Van and observe the Actuator at engine start-up and watch it as it idles.