transmission parts problems...2000 Jetta tdi

skurbina

TDI
99.5 Jetta TDI
Hi All,

5th gear fork gave going 90mph on highways..wont engage 5gear.. also 2nd gear synchro seems as if its soon on its way out..

I need some recommendations or suggestions on wat to do.

Cant afford new transmission at the moment.

1. Buy 2nd Hand Transmission?
2. Replace Transmission parts?

I would prefer to replace parts myself but i dont know where to get the parts i need..
Can som1 point me in the direction where i can buy/get/find 5gear fork and 2nd gear synchronizer set?

thanks for ur time and replies.. ;)

skurbina

TDI
99.5 Jetta TDI
2000 Jetta TDI 5spd manual... i hav no experiance in transmission but my cuzin is 15 yrs experienced diesel mechanic and he will be the one working on it if i get the parts i need.

skurbina

TDI
99.5 Jetta TDI
200 jetta tdi manual 5spd... i have no experience in transmission repair but my cousin is a 15 yr experienced diesel mechanic and has worked on a few vw..

hevster1

Vendor
TDI
98 NB
First try adjusting the cables. The procedure is in the book. If you need to go inside it isn't a particularly hard unit if you know transmission repair.

mrGutWrench

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'03 Jetta Wagon, 5-speed, 563K Miles (July '23)
skurbina said:
Hi All,

5th gear fork gave going 90mph on highways..wont engage 5gear.. also 2nd gear synchro seems as if its soon on its way out..

I need some recommendations or suggestions on wat to do.

Cant afford new transmission at the moment.

1. Buy 2nd Hand Transmission?
2. Replace Transmission parts?

I would prefer to replace parts myself but i dont know where to get the parts i need..
Can som1 point me in the direction where i can buy/get/find 5gear fork and 2nd gear synchronizer set?

thanks for ur time and replies.. ;)
__. As Hevster says, the external transmission adjustment on these cars is pretty important. So that's your first place to start and it's simple and easy to do.