Intermittent bearing noise, water pump, tensioner?

Boostedballs

TDI
2003 Jetta TDI 5pd
This is my first post! I have been driving my 2003 TDI Jetta with manual trans for a couple years not and I have racked up 40k, now it's at 220k. It's been a great car with 42-46mpg mostly highway driving at 82mph with cruise control set. I parked it until I can fix this weird noise that I have been hearing. I assume is the water pump or another bearing. I can't really tell where the sound is coming from but it sounds like maybe near the firewall but my hearing sucks from working on loud engines and music for too long. I don't think it is the injection pump but I can't be certain.

I found this video on youtube of a 2003 alh and it sounds EXACTLY like my noise. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jbKxjaEjpE

The timing belt was supposedly replaced at 120k with German parts and metal impeller, but who knows. The belt itself looks good but that doesn't mean the bearings and pulleys are good. I have a full timing kit ready to install as soon as the weather in Sacramento cools down a bit. (looks like a daunting task compared to my Subarus, which I can do in an hour)
I also have a serpentine tensioner on order just because I read on here that it is a good thing to do after your alternator one-way clutch fails. Mine failed in a spectacular fashion a few months ago. I think the bearings in the alternator seized or there was an internal short. I've never seen an alternator smoke like that! I'm sure that if the engine was greasy, I would have had a car-B-Q. That thing was HOT!

Any ideas on the noise? I need to keep this thing running until my Tesla model 3 shows up :)

BobnOH

not-a-mechanic
TDI
New Beetle 2003 manual
Remove the serpentine belt to isolate the noise. If it's still there, run the motor with the upper TB cover off. Use a hose in your ear as a probe.

hey_allen

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta TDI