The Go-Kart: A College Budget Build

dutch.mafia

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Golf
My name is Cole, and I am currently a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville, majoring in Mechanical Engineering. So far I have had three vehicles (since I turned 16), none of which I was ever all that happy with. I just picked up this 2002 VW Golf TDI Saturday (4/11/15) afternoon. This thread will be more of a progress log for myself of what has been done to my car, but feel free to ask questions or get off topic. I pulled this off of vortex, where I started the thread, but no one really followed it, so I thought I'd try here. It is a TDI anyway!

My current vehicle: 2002 VW Golf TDI (one owner)

Dyno'd at 111 hp, and calculated ~200 tq. Retune just installed.

Current Mods Include:

Interior:
-Schwabben Floor Mats
-Aftermarket Head-unit
-10" subwoofer
-NewSouth Steering Wheel "Center" Gauge Pod
-NewSouth Boost Gauge wit Aluminum Trim Ring
-20th AE Brushed Aluminum Pedals
-20th Brushed Radio Trim
-Kicker CS Components up front
-30% Window Tint, 5% Windshield Drop
-20th Recaro Seats (Front and Rear)
-Leather Shift Boot with Silver Stitching

Exterior:
-Rock chips
-18x7.5 +37 BBS RC Reps with summer tires
-20th Front Valance (in prep for paint)

Engine/Transmission:
Kerma TDI 150+ HP Kit
-Garrett VNT17 Turbo
-Stainless Oil Supply Lines
-Fratelli Bosio DLC 1019 injector nozzles
-South Bend Stage 2 Daily clutch kit
-3 Bar MAP (boost) sensor
-Kerma Q-Loader
-2.5" straight pipe exhaust
-Aftermarket sidemount Intercooler (ECS)
-EGR Delete
-Shifter bushings
-Shifter Bracket bushings
-DieselGeek Panzer Plate
-Kerma OMI

Future Mods:
-Short Shift kit
-OMI/CAI
-Double DIN Head-unit
-20th Side Skirts
-OEM Hatch "spoiler"
-20th Seat Belts
-Brushed Trim Pieces
-NewSouth Oil Pressure, EGT Gauges

Last edited:

dutch.mafia

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Golf
Changed the intake and cabin air filters today. He clearly never changed the cabin filter, but the intake filter wasn't that bad.