Sirius Satellite Radio Reception Issues

4cefed4

TDI
2010 Jetta SportWagen TDI
Ever since I upgraded from the original RCD-510 head unit to RNS-510 the Sirius reception in my 2010 JSW has been questionable at best. Long Island and NYC has never been the best places to pick up satellite radio, but what irks me is how the reception got worse going from the non-navi head unit to the navi unit. I have been installing car audio equipment for many years, but I'm approaching the point of pulling the head unit back out and making sure the connector going back to the sharkfin is on properly. Does anyone have any ideas or personal experience with this issue?

aaronazevedo

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta Cup
Ever since I upgraded from the original RCD-510 head unit to RNS-510 the Sirius reception in my 2010 JSW has been questionable at best. Long Island and NYC has never been the best places to pick up satellite radio, but what irks me is how the reception got worse going from the non-navi head unit to the navi unit. I have been installing car audio equipment for many years, but I'm approaching the point of pulling the head unit back out and making sure the connector going back to the sharkfin is on properly. Does anyone have any ideas or personal experience with this issue?
I have what may be a similar issue. My satellite reception is good, but it cuts out for 1-2 seconds 8-10 times during my 1 hour commute. I understand some cutting out if I'm under an overpass or tunnel, but in broad daylight cruising up the 5? I have the same service in our other car and have never had it cut out. Is there any diagnostics one can do on the antenna?

nhdoc

Veteran Member
TDI
'01 GLS NB TDI 5 Speed
Ditto for me...Sirius reception sucks on my RNS-510, I don't know why anyone would pay for it when FM sounds better and IPOD interface has the best sound and you actually get to listen to what you want to when you want to.

RebelTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2016 Audi Q5 TDI, 2016 BMW 535d Xdrive