2011 Golf TDI 1.5 gallons of B20 / 12 Gallons of #2

tenyearscrowe

TDI
2011 Golf TDI
So I took the plunge and fueled up tonight, first was 1.5 gallons of B20 and then 12 gallons of #2 diesel. Which I think would equal around B2. This is my first time using the splash mix up of the two fuels.

I have 4,150 miles on my '11 Golf TDI. I'm not sure about adding an additive but the biodiesel sounds like the best option to keeping her lubed up and avoiding the HPFP from failing.

Anyone else adding a 'lil bio to their tanks in a MK6?

DrMicki

TDI
My: 2011 Golf TDI 6spd Hers: 2010 Jetta DSG
I'm on my second tank of B4. I picked up a few gallons of B99 in RI and now I mix a half gallon of the B99 with a full fill of about 13 gallons. Fuel economy went down, but so did the temps in Boston in December and it's parked outside. I added 4oz of Standyne formula and I noticed that the engine is much smoother when cold. I am at 4100 miles so not much behind you. Seems like an additive is a must here in the cold but even the dealer recommended it.

CedarPark68

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 Jetta TDI Wagen
So I took the plunge and fueled up tonight, first was 1.5 gallons of B20 and then 12 gallons of #2 diesel. Which I think would equal around B2. This is my first time using the splash mix up of the two fuels.

I have 4,150 miles on my '11 Golf TDI. I'm not sure about adding an additive but the biodiesel sounds like the best option to keeping her lubed up and avoiding the HPFP from failing.

Anyone else adding a 'lil bio to their tanks in a MK6?
Straight D#2 with a good additive vs. a self splashed Bio.

Self splashed or not, I am opting for the straight plus additive.

Consider:
  1. Fuel Dilution in oil sump, higher with Bio
  2. Improper Bio blending .... i.e. questionable ratios
  3. Questionable Bio.... not meeting specificatitons. ( lax regulation in this area)
  4. Extreme weather issues