How is San Jose?

david_594

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2000 Jetta GLS Silver
Im a college student and I am interviewing for a 6 month co-op position out there and I was just wondering what San Jose is like. One of my big questions is, is it the type of city where a car is practical? I know in New York City a car would be useless because of traffic and finding parking. I have no idea what the living situation would be like, probabily some cheap appartment.

Im really hoping it will work out because Jan-June in California sounds a lot nicer than upstate NY(cold!).

Jetter_Sprinta

Veteran Member - TDIClub Contributor
TDI
2 Peeps sharing 1 UseYerName//an array of cars
San Jose is the car capital! A car is not only practical, but pretty much a requirement! Lost of nice, non-rusty parts--! But lots of traffic, too.

I am here this week on biz, and have noticed a bunch of beautiful Sciroccos. The only thing that would scare me about taking my car here: the parking spaces are TEEENY!!! Lots of parking lot damage.

peter pyce

Veteran Member
SJ was rated the safest big town in USA! Pretty boring in weekends as everyone is out, but you will be out too as there are so many beautiful places to drive to on weekends....

rdkern

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Passat 1997 silver (sold after 11 years), Jetta 2000 atlantic blue
I agree with Jetta_Sprinta. A car is almost a requirement. It would be difficult to get around without one. It's very similar to LA in that respect - it grew with the car and has never been a "real city" as exist on the East Coast. Forty years ago it was heavily agricultural, orchards and the like. Now its malls connected by roads. Biggest city in the San Francisco Bay Area in population, and I'd guess, in surface area as well.

david_594

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2000 Jetta GLS Silver
Im not too sure where in San Jose their campus actually is but they are San Jose's largest private employer and I would be able to network some very valueable connections there.

ruking

Top Post Dawg