2001 ALH into 2001 Ford Ranger Edge

Hasenwerk

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
1982 Cabriolet (BEW|VNT17|Stage4), 1989 VW TriStar Syncro soon-to-be CR TDI (CBEA), 2001 Ford Ranger Edge 4x4 (ALH|VNT17|R520|Stage4)
Started another project this week. 2001 Ford Ranger Edge

- 258.000 km on the odometer
- Edge = same suspension as the 4x4, only it's a 2WD
- 3.0L V6
- 5 speed manual transmission
- Power Steering
- No air conditioning

It will be receiving a 2001 ALH via one of Randy's adapter plate / mount kits sold at: http://www.tdconversions.com/

One of the goals of this project is to have a off-the-shelf ALH and BEW harness for the Ford Ranger ready for retail this fall. This is also documenting the fitment for ALH as Randy's current project is using a BEW.

This is my first time working on a Ford. All I have to say is it quite complicated for me as half the truck in imperial measurement and the other half if metric and EVERYTHING seems to be torqued by elephants as I bent two wrenches removing bell housing bolts. :eek:

Volkswagen seems to be a much easier vehicle to remove the engine from as with the Ford you have to take apart half the engine just to remove the wire harness intact and there are no anchor points for the hoist chains - common thread it to use the exhaust manifolds. Everything just seems a little more complicated than it should be - rant over I guess! :p

So... I'll spare everyone the details on how to remove a Ford Ranger engine. It comes out after some effort and there is a big hole where a TDI engine will go.

The rest of this thread will show the details and issues of installing the ALH engine in this "quick n dirty" swap! :cool:

Hasenwerk

TDI
1982 Cabriolet (BEW|VNT17|Stage4), 1989 VW TriStar Syncro soon-to-be CR TDI (CBEA), 2001 Ford Ranger Edge 4x4 (ALH|VNT17|R520|Stage4)
AC is an issue