www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 10th, 2019, 08:20   #1
BKmetz
Administrator, Member #10
 
BKmetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1997
Location: Illinois
Fuel Economy: 50 MPG
Default Car Memory Saver Advice

I'm posting this here so it gets the most views.

What I'm considering is one of those memory savers when one changes out the battery. Lots of options out there. Some plug into the aux power socket, what we used to call the cigarette lighter socket. Some plug into the OBD-II port. I'm thinking of the OBD-II port type as a lot of aux power sockets are switched. Prices are all over the place. I'm looking for good quality and no Chinese/Alibaba stuff. Budget is whatever I want it to be, so there is no budget.

The cable is just part of the equation. There has to be an external power source. I'm looking at battery chargers/boosters/maintainers to provide the power. This is where I need the advice. Prices are all over the place and there are a LOT of options. Here is where I'm at.

Battery chargers: I have to keep a charger plugged in to an AC source. I don't want the extra cables involved. I have both battery chargers and a Battery Tender but both use alligator clips. I want to get away from alligator clips since this item will be used inside the car. Alligator clips can be an option if the device can accept different plugs

Lithium battery boosters are looking good. I can get one large enough to jump batteries. For saving car data it would have enough capacity to provide power for hours, if not days.

Maintainers? Very workable but I have to keep it plugged in to an AC source. As stated I already have one for battery storage but it has no options for using different cables.

I'm Looking at NOCO as they have a great selection of quality products and cables. What else is out there? What are your experiences?

All input is welcome.

__________________

Brian, 2015 Passat SE TDI 6MT
Kathy, 2014 Passat SE 2.5
Chris, 2015 Passat SEL TDI

If ANYONE receives a PM/email from a TDIClub member shilling anything and they are NOT a registered vendor, please forward the PM/emails to me. To report spam, trolling, or any problem post, click the report post icon. (The icon in the actual problem post, not the one in my sig. The idiots know who they are... )
BKmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 10:24   #2
Mike_04GolfTDI
Veteran Member
 
Mike_04GolfTDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
Default

If your power socket is switched, you can move a fuse to a different spot and then it will not be switched. That would allow you to use a maintainer that plugs into the aux power/lighter socket. That seems like the simplest solution to me.

I can’t remember the fuse number, but on my wife’s 2015 Golf all you had to do is move the cigarette lighter fuse to the slot beside it and it was no longer switched. Looks like they intentionally designed the circuit with that option.

You just have to figure out how to do it on your specific car.
__________________
2004 Golf GLS TDI 5-spd, DC Stage 1 Clutch, Evolution Atlas Skid Plate, Malone Stage 4 Tune, GT1749VB Turbo, 3 bar MAP
Mike_04GolfTDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 19:35   #3
Lightflyer1
Veteran Member
 
Lightflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Default

I have one of these jump packs with a power socket built in.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B000JFJL...aa_scomp_srdg2

Use this memory saver with it:

https://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-OB.../dp/B00CH59OAS

You get double duty from the jump pack for starting your car if needed as well as charging phones and stuff when the car isn't available. I have a 1935 Ford and no socket there. I just take this to power my charger and stuff. Should work nicely for what you have stipulated and get some extra use from it if needed.
__________________
How to post pics:http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...t=post+picture
Lightflyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 19:42   #4
BKmetz
Administrator, Member #10
 
BKmetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1997
Location: Illinois
Fuel Economy: 50 MPG
Default

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
That's what I'm talking about.

__________________

Brian, 2015 Passat SE TDI 6MT
Kathy, 2014 Passat SE 2.5
Chris, 2015 Passat SEL TDI

If ANYONE receives a PM/email from a TDIClub member shilling anything and they are NOT a registered vendor, please forward the PM/emails to me. To report spam, trolling, or any problem post, click the report post icon. (The icon in the actual problem post, not the one in my sig. The idiots know who they are... )
BKmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 20:38   #5
PeterV
TDIClub Enthusiast
HO5G Doyen & Zen Master
 
PeterV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: So, NH.
Default

Perhaps one reason the the lighter socket is powered is 20 yrs ago or so VW used to have the 12 v solar panels for the TDI's. Perhaps they deleted the socket to save weight in the newer cars.
__________________
PeterV 'BUG*pwr award 2005'
'00 Jetta TDI, RC, Shine, DG RPipe, 520PP, DG/SS LED Boost ASR. Home of HO5G ('96 Cummins CTD 3/4 ton now at 274 HP 670 ft Lbs TQ riprust) Ram 1500 hemi
Trusted TDI Mechanics Map || VCDS Locator ||
PeterV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 21:07   #6
Lightflyer1
Veteran Member
 
Lightflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Default

The socket is still there and works fine. It is just switched now so it is disconnected when the key is off.
__________________
How to post pics:http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...t=post+picture
Lightflyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 22:35   #7
n1das
TDIClub Enthusiast
Veteran Member
 
n1das's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Fuel Economy: Who cares? It's a DIESEL! Great fuel economy comes as a bonus!
Exclamation

No memory saver is required when changing the battery in a TDI.

I read somewhere that VW dealers quote 3 hours of shop labor time to "train the computer" after installing a new battery. It might be required for a VW gasser to do the throttle body adaptation and maybe a few other adaptations. NONE of this is required for a TDI. Don't fall for this scam at a VW dealer.

The radio head unit might need the radio code entered if it is not the factory original unit. The car normally recognizes its own radio head unit but might not if the head unit has been replaced. (IIRC)

My 02 Golf TDI years ago was off the road for about 2 months during some of my modding to it in 2007 and the battery was out of it the whole time. No "memory saver" device was used. There was no issue when I reinstalled the battery. The clock on the instrument cluster needed to be reset but no other issues.

My 05 PD Jetta Wagen TDI had the battery out of it for 4 months while waiting for an engine after a TB failure in 2009. An engine swap and a whole bunch of go-fast mods were installed while everything was apart. The car became an ATD PD Jetta Wagen TDI. There was no issue with the battery being out of the car with no "memory saver" attached other than needing to reset the clock on the instrument cluster. TDIclub forum member mrchill owns the car now since 2014 after I broke the upgraded clutch from enjoying too much weapons-grade torque with it.
__________________
Why DIESEL is better: (Courtesy TDIclub forum member wxman)
PM - https://sites.google.com/view/lmarzccm/home
Air Toxics - https://sites.google.com/view/loren-marz-ccm/home
Ozone Precursors - https://sites.google.com/view/lorenmarz-ccm/home
General - https://sites.google.com/view/emissions-general/home

Last edited by n1das; November 10th, 2019 at 22:58.
n1das is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2019, 23:23   #8
akjdouglass
Veteran Member
 
akjdouglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mountain Grove, Missouri
Default

I recently changed the battery in my 2014 Jetta TDI. I was under the impression I was going to have to use VCDS to reset the comfort settings I customized to my preferences when the car was new (one-touch windows, 5 blink signals, mirror heat on w/rear defrost, etc.).

I noticed the one-touch windows didn't work at first, but within a day or two the memory for one-touch windows began working again. I have the car parked out of town at a friends house, but now I'm curious if everything else is magically working again, too? With the number of features I changed, it will be easy to verify when I pick up the car in a week or so.
__________________




akjdouglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 01:09   #9
Zak3
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Morocco
Default

There’s no need for any memory saver on tdi.
Here’s the things that you need to readjust after a battery replacement :
- date and time
- radio code (only for cars without canbus)
- reactivate comfort Windows.

All others parameters will not be lost.
Zak3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 04:45   #10
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

I just put the jump pack on the fuse box main lug (that is from the battery), and ground wherever I can find it. No need for anything fancy. I do this with a lot of cars.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 05:18   #11
BKmetz
Administrator, Member #10
 
BKmetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1997
Location: Illinois
Fuel Economy: 50 MPG
Default

It's good to know TDIs don't require any memory saving device. My wife drives a 2014 Passat 2.5 gasser. what about that?

My boys drive a whole bunch of different makes, Hyundai, Chevy, Ford, Toyota, etc.

__________________

Brian, 2015 Passat SE TDI 6MT
Kathy, 2014 Passat SE 2.5
Chris, 2015 Passat SEL TDI

If ANYONE receives a PM/email from a TDIClub member shilling anything and they are NOT a registered vendor, please forward the PM/emails to me. To report spam, trolling, or any problem post, click the report post icon. (The icon in the actual problem post, not the one in my sig. The idiots know who they are... )
BKmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 05:22   #12
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

They DO actually, as many of them lose different radio settings that will require you go back in with VCDS and change the coding. Some even lose the backup camera function, as well as all the other memory stuff like seats, etc. Some cars won't idle either (non-TDIs) as they learn that value, and if memory is lost you have to go in and relearn the idle with a scan tool.

Whenever you can, it is always a good idea to keep the car's memory alive.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 05:55   #13
AndyBees
Veteran Member
 
AndyBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Kentucky
Default

Well, I bought one of those cheap China made OBD Port connectors with the alligator clips. It works great and I use a lawn mower battery for the power. I only use it to save the radio settings, trip-o-meter and clock setting.... otherwise, there's really no need to worry as others have indicated.

I did open up the unit and remove the wire to the beeper that was driving me nuts.

Ironically, several years ago, on my formerly owned 2000 Jetta, due to a battery cable ground connection acting up, the Radio went into safe mode. Well, I did not have the code... fast forward to approximately one year later, just out the blue the radio started working properly on its own.
__________________
This is the TDI Club, a place to share experiences & ideas, ask for help, etc. Welcome Newbies! Sarcastic and condescending posts shouldn't be welcome.
AndyBees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 06:53   #14
BKmetz
Administrator, Member #10
 
BKmetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1997
Location: Illinois
Fuel Economy: 50 MPG
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterV View Post
Perhaps one reason the the lighter socket is powered is 20 yrs ago or so VW used to have the 12 v solar panels for the TDI's. Perhaps they deleted the socket to save weight in the newer cars.
LOL, I have one! Years ago at the first MI TDIFest there was a guy selling them. I think I paid like $20 for it. Yeah, won't work now as the power socket is switched. If I recall, all VWs came from the factory with those mini solar panels plugged in. The dealers had to collect them as part of the dealer prep and send them back to be used again.

Since most care are covered now in protective plastic film during delivery, no reason to use the mini solar panels or have the power socket constant power on. Then again, I can imagine the people inadvertently running their batteries down leaving stuff plugged into the unswitched power sockets.

__________________

Brian, 2015 Passat SE TDI 6MT
Kathy, 2014 Passat SE 2.5
Chris, 2015 Passat SEL TDI

If ANYONE receives a PM/email from a TDIClub member shilling anything and they are NOT a registered vendor, please forward the PM/emails to me. To report spam, trolling, or any problem post, click the report post icon. (The icon in the actual problem post, not the one in my sig. The idiots know who they are... )
BKmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2019, 09:30   #15
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

The solar panels were on the windshields, which were NOT covered, and they were thrown in the trash at PDI. I have a few of them, but they were Chinesium, so they rarely worked for long.

The newer cars allow for the CAN bus to be put to sleep for transport. So they are not as likely to kill the battery.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Side mirrors memory vs non-memory cochrank VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 3 November 28th, 2014 16:33
Battery Changeout-Computer Memory Saver TheKid7 TDI 101 11 June 23rd, 2013 20:25
Memory seats on both sides of car graeme86 Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 3 February 19th, 2009 13:17
Code Saver michaeld TDI 101 3 August 11th, 2006 19:33
Turning memory seats on(activating memory seats) DRbillZ VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 5 March 15th, 2006 19:48


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18381 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 137.12 Kb. compressed to 115.06 Kb. by saving 22.06 Kb. (16.09%)]