I can't get more than 30 mpg

Adman

TDI
05 golf tdi
I'm new to the TDI world so could be I'm just uninformed...

Recently bought a 2005 Golf TDI GLS, manual. I have yet to do a road trip,(most of my driving is around town, but not stop and go). I've filled up (w/ biodiesel) around seven or eight times and alway get around 400 mile on a tank.

Any thoughts other than tire pressure?

Thanks.

ieracer

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta GLS TDI
Injectors bad, intake clogged, air filter?

Adman said:

Recently bought a 2005 Golf TDI GLS, manual. I have yet to do a road trip,(most of my driving is around town, but not stop and go). I've filled up (w/ biodiesel) around seven or eight times and alway get around 400 mile on a tank.

Thanks.

Joe_Meehan

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB TDI, 2002.5, Silver
Miles per tank is not a very good measure of mileage. How exactly are you measuring the mileage (US or Imp gallons?)?

30 is low, but with winter fuel, city driving and a heavy foot, it could be normal. :rolleyes:

TDikook

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'06 Golf Anthracite Blue
and Bio diesel dosnt give a good return on mpgs in a PD. I fiiled up in Austin TX and drove back home and lost like 5 mpgs on the way back(all highway) try running regular D2 for a few tanks and see if that helps.

Eric B

HwBtThmYanks

TDI
'96 Passat TDI
Bad MPG (I think)

I own a 96 Passat TDi and only get up to 30 MPG, sometimes a little less. I understand that there can be some variability because of the whole venting thing, and the only driving I do is in the city, kind of stop and go, and I do tend to have a bit of a lead foot. With all this taken into account, is this reasonable or should I be getting higher. If this is not normal, any ideas on why would be helpful.

Joe_Meehan

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB TDI, 2002.5, Silver
HwBtThmYanks said:
.. is this reasonable or should I be getting higher. If this is not normal, any ideas on why would be helpful.