simple turned into engine light on....

Cool_Breeze

TDI
Jetta 2009 RED
All i wanted to do was change my air filter, un connect the maf, unclamp the large air hose, then the little hose, unscrew the 2 screws, remove the top,remove the old filter,clean out the box. replace filter. reassemble in reverse order...Fairly simple....Jetta worked fine before this all took place...sigh...ENGINE LIGHT ON....I am goin to assume from all my reading about MAF's it seems the connectors are "shackey" and i need to clean this connector and use a di-electric compound....how is this connector cleaned and is the compound easy to get, because i have never used it before,i quess napa auto parts will have this? So i quess my question is how to clean it and where to get the compound and will the engine light go out once i have done this.... and by the way i have 98k on this jetta

wny_pat

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
Whoa - Did you hook the vacuum line back up? Both ends of it? You didn't mess with the MAF inside the air tube did you? Did you completely hook up the MAF connector, so it is locked on? As to cleaning the electrical plug, just get some spray on electrical cleaner from Radio Shack and spray it on the connections. The follow with some CRC Di-Electric Grease from a auto parts store.

The Check Engine Light could be completely unrelated. You will have to have someone plug in to see what the code is. Unless you know someone with VAG-Com, you will need someone with a OBD-II code reader. They can read the code and also clear it. Check the "VAG-Com List" at top of this page to see if there is someone in your area to hook up with.

Cool_Breeze

TDI
Jetta 2009 RED
Tried the Spray...