Loss of power...turn car off on fine again

bthachad09

TDI
2001 Jetta TDI
Hey guys I’m having some issues with my 2002 ALH. I haven’t had it for more than a month and already replaced the shifter cable and now I’m having power issues. It doesn’t always act funny. When I say act funny it’s like the turbo isn’t working, it still runs but semi slow. The guy I bought it from deleted the EGR and he had taken off the valve that’s on the outside of the manifold. I turn off the car and back on and it’s fine again. I’m not trying to spend thousands of dollars on what seems to be something easy as a sensor or valve. I am no mechanic so please anything will help

Tdijarhead

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 TDI Jetta Daughters Car, 2001 TDI Beetle, Wife’s car, 2005 Golf TDI Mine, all 5 spds
My daughter just had a similar issue on her 03 Jetta. I checked everything from vacuum hoses to boost pipes etc. It turned out to be her MAF sensor wasn’t getting a good connection at the plug. Cleaned it up, sprayed it with some electrical spray and it’s been working fine for the past couple of weeks.

jettawreck

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Jetta and 2003 Jetta
Classic "limp mode" when power returns after a restart. Many causes, often vacuum leak related, MAF issues, stuck turbo vanes/actuator, etc. Do some searches.

vandermic07

Veteran Member
TDI
01 Golf 5 spd, 03 Jetta Wagon
Do you have any way to scan it for a code? It could be over-boost or under-boost. From my experiences, over-boost is usually caused by sticky vanes in the turbo. This can be "fixed" by disconnecting the down pipe and spraying a carbon solvent (oven cleaner, Seafoam, etc) and working the actuator arm until its smooth. This is not a permanent fix but is a cheap/quick way to get your car going. Symptoms are boost spikes over 20 psi (sometimes feels like you have more power than normal while accelerating followed by limp mode).