a/c not blowing cold

pgringo

TDI
03 5speed wagon. 03 5speed Jetta sedan
03 jetta ALH 5speed.

manual climate controls

my compressor clutch engages. low side and high side get up to and sit at around 60psi while trying to charge system. would i be likely correct in diagnosis that the manifold in the compressor is probably bad? or that valve in the compressor?

i'm thinking about just grabbing one of those florida rebuilds with expansion block and drier and o-rings off ebay and going for it.

i have the harborfreight gauges and vac pump, but this is my first time at serious a/c diagnosis & repair. i do all my own wrenching.

Zheking

TDI
02 Golf
I'm in the same boat. I can't decide if I should just replace the compressor and have a warranty or what.

pgringo

TDI
all fans in cabin and under hood working properly. sorry, i should have included that in initial post.

Genesis

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'03 Jetta Wagon
If the pressures are roughly equal and the compressor runs odds are good that the RCV is stuck open in the compressor. That's fixable without replacing the compressor entirely, but it does require disassembling the back section of it (not terrible difficult, but must be done in clean conditions as any sort of debris that gets in there will trash it.) You also need a new dryer and the correct equipment to recharge it (and, to do it legally, the correct equipment to recover the refrigerant in there!)

BobnOH

not-a-mechanic
TDI
New Beetle 2003 manual
From Dan's thread-
Folks, a reminder. This thread is for solving electrical control problems in the Mk IV Air conditioning systems. If your clutch is engaging, and your fans are running, then you will not find your answer in this thread.