Rear Tailights (Question)

Tyler22474

TDI
'06 Jetta 1.9l Automatic DSG
Last night, I was curious to find if there was a way to disable DRLs without a Vagcom. Doesn't look like it though. Anyway, I shifted to the rear tailights, curious to disable them for a new look at night. I was wondering if the rear brake lights can be disabled with a typical 12v switch. My question is: Are all of the lights in the back 12v? I would just remove the whole assembly of every light, but then I would probably get pulled over by a cop if they saw I didn't have lights. I'm new to electrics, so I may sound like a dope. Anything helps! Thanks!

Last edited:

Rob Mayercik

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS, Baltic Green/Beige
Yes, they should all be 12V, but disabling the rear running lights is dangerous - how do you expect the cars behind you at night/in bad rain/snow/fog) to see you?

mr.loops

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 jetta, 2003 Bora 1.8T
Oh boy. This is a great way to cause an accident!

Leave this **** alone and do something more productive on your car

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI
98 Jetta TDI AHU 1.9L (944 TDI swap in progress) I moved so now i got nothing but an AHU in a garage on a pallet.
Your trying to do something that is not road legal in any situation at all. You wont be able to pass inspection and your new look at night will be the red and blue flashing lights of your impending fixit ticket and or a crash. Please done disable your rear lights. It's not difficult to bypass the dtrl for the headlights but it's also borderline not road legal because it's designed that way and it is a dot regulation. That being said, a relay and some wiring fixes the headlight dtrl

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI
98 Jetta TDI AHU 1.9L (944 TDI swap in progress) I moved so now i got nothing but an AHU in a garage on a pallet.
go outside at night and look at your car when its off. done.