Glow plug broken = head removal :-(

rah7777777

TDI
2011 Jetta SportWagen TDI
Hey all, been gone for a while (yes, playing around on the Buell motorcycle boards)

Anyhow, so yesterday I decided to change my glow plugs real fast on my 2001 Jetta TDI with 110,000 miles.
Thinking it should take no more then 2 minutes, I pulled into the shop
(i'm a technician for benz) popped the hood and started to remove the glow plugs. 3 come out like butter. then one is kinda tight (like a snug spark plug......) I get about 1/10th a turn and snap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:
It broke like a darn twix candy bar!

It broke off even with the head! So I spend the next 2 hours carefully drilling out the center to get an extractor bit in there. well that breaks off! I manage to get it out, try another..........it snaps ( and these arent the cheap autozone tools!!!) I try wedging a few different triple square sockets, it only shaves the edges!

So now i'm down to tearing the darn head off!!! :(

This happen to anyone else?

On a positive note, its almost timing belt time again! and my head gasket has been leaking since I bought her (but not very much, just a seep!)
Plus I have wanted to clean my intake out for a while. Guess I'll get the perfect chance to do all 3 at the same time.

I can plug in the block heater and she will start just fine. But do want to fix it pretty soon. I'll probably wait until summer so I can leave it at work for a week or so while I do the repairs after hours and just ride my bike to work and back with no worries of a super cold morning (like the sleet this morning)

PDJetta

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 Jetta GLS TDI Pumpe Duce Platinum Grey w/ Leather
There was a thread on this very problem and how to get the plug out, a while back. Try the search function.

--Nate

rah7777777

TDI