ALH swap into Samurai

BoydHowdy

TDI
1.9 ALH
Let me start this by stating that I bought a complete donor car for 350 bucks. The transmission is completely shot, it will drive in neutral lol. I have a full shop and access to a machine shop so I can fab up just about anything! I was just hoping to gain some insight from people that have done this swap before. My main question is, Can I put a mechanical pump on it so that I can bypass all of the electronics? I've searched and searched for quality information, but no one ever seems to be asking the questions I need answered. Thanks guys!!! Heres a pic of the good ole Sammy

damac

Veteran Member
TDI
none
i know its been done but not as much info about it. i am doing the same thing with a mk2 golf right now. its been a long road for me since i am no techie. i am stuck right now because the holset he2000wg turbo i got wont allow me room to use off the shelf fittings to make turbo drain. i need help on that one, then i can try and start it!

i went with this popular recommended setup and a rover 300tdi injection pump i got from ebay uk.

i had to tap the holes on pump to make it go stationary. then i tried to find tdc on the top back injector cycle and make the timing 1.54mm i think by memory. i put a bushing in pump body so timing tool would fit and thats where the alh hub/pully went on. i hope i did it right but cant confirm yet :)

for me i want a daily driver with mileage. if things work good enough vs. experience with rabbit 1.6td i may leave the car alone but i have a feeling if i enjoy things i will be doing some mods like clutch, pump and injectors and do the best bang for the buck so i can still get mileage if i cruise but stomp on it and pass people and call it good.

Vince Waldon

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 ALH Jetta, 2003 ALH Wagon, 2005 BEW Wagon
"m-TDI" is the Google search term ye seek for all things related to the fully-mechanical TDI pump. :) :)