Questions on Alh build

alhparty

TDI
01 golf tdi
I hear so many different things from anyone I ask, what most people have to say is usually useful so thought I would just post a couple questions that have bothered me for a bit and have them here so I don't forget the replies. Please bare with my lack of knawledge. I'm just a first year apprentice in the trade still have a ton to learn!
Anyways I'll start by just listing the build so far, it's a 5 speed 01golf tdi, running a vnt 17/22 turbo that's new, did a stage 3 DC clutch, put the .520 race nozzles on,3BAR MAP, have EGR Delete and Im not sure if im supposed to own up to it or not but im running a stock straight pipe for exhaust. Also have a stage 5 Malone tune, stock intercooler and stock injection pump, also stock intake and stock internals also stock head bolts.
Question 1: With my set up now, can I stop and just daily drive it, it's got quite the gusty pull and im not unhappy with it aha. OR do I have to do the intercooler and injection pump and upgrade all internals? Is it likely I'll run into big issues and can do damage?
Question 2: I think I would like to get as close to the max power as I can get with the turbo I have, what do I require to get there? Like what is necessary (kinda ties into the Question 1?
Question 3: Like I said im running stock head bolts, I have been hearing about people doing the ARP head studs swap just one by one to avoide pulling the head, this question again ties in with the first question, is the one by one method safe? I guess if I do have to upgrade internals then may as well do it all in one shot?
Anyways, I hope for a variety of responses please be nice aha, this is my first post. I hear this is the place to ask all the questions! Im excited to hear what you all think.
Thanks

Last edited:

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW