www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Conversions

TDI Conversions Discussions on converting non TDIs into TDIS. More general items can be answered better in other sections. This is ideal for issues that don't have an overlap and are very special to swaping engines.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 21st, 2018, 20:04   #1
fjdiesel
Newbie
 
fjdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MN
Default ALH FJ40 109 relay HELP

I cannot get the 109 relay to power up in my swap. If I touch ground to the blu/yel wire it will power up. But it won't shut off until I pull the relay. I kept the load reduction relay box and the 109 relay from my donor. 2002 Jetta ALH. And the power distribution box at the battery. Can anyone tell me what wire tells the computer to ground out the blu/yel wire for the 109 relay. Thanks!
fjdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 20:25   #2
fjdiesel
Newbie
 
fjdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MN
Default

A friend of mine said to check 121/37 and sure enough I have that wire being powered by the 109 relay....

Last edited by fjdiesel; February 21st, 2018 at 20:26. Reason: spelling
fjdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 20:40   #3
Alchemist
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta
TDI(s): '04 ALH Golf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjdiesel View Post
A friend of mine said to check 121/37 and sure enough I have that wire being powered by the 109 relay....
That should be connected to the ignition switch, not the relay. Power at this point will cause the ECU to turn the relay on. By connecting it to the 109 relay, you are making the relay hold itself on.
__________________
I've learned so much from my mistakes I'm thinking of making some more.
Alchemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 11:12   #4
fjdiesel
Newbie
 
fjdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MN
Default

Yes, thank you. That is exactly what happened. I moved it to an ignition source. All is well now.
fjdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2018, 16:25   #5
PickleRick
Veteran Member
 
PickleRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Greenville sc
Default

Would love to see pics of your ALHJ40

What transmission are you running, tire size and are you running stock gear ratios?


My buddy lusted over my old 4bd1t/4bd2t fj60 and fj40. After seeing the power and smooth reving power band of the vw diesel i should have never messed with those 700+ lbs swaps. Im trying to talk him into a stage 2 tune BHW in his FJ60 on an H55 transmission. He's running 33 inch tires on the stock 3:73 gears. Im thining he'd be better off with 4:10 gears but should be table fo find a 40 or 62 owner wanting better mpgs on their gasser willing to do a trade. The h55 came behind both the 2H ans 3B and guys use them for the later turbo yota diesels as well with success so i don't think the gear ratios would be that bad so long as you dont have too much tire for your gearing. The 60 being only about a half ton heavier than a 40 shouldn't be that big of a deal with a BHW if an ALH pushes a 40 with ease. You probably lost what...300 lbs ditching your F?
__________________
Weddings are basically funerals with cake
PickleRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2018, 20:16   #6
fjdiesel
Newbie
 
fjdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MN
Default

PickleRick, I forgot to subscribe to the thread, so I just seen your post. I am running the Coty built adapter and I am running the nv3550 from a 2004 Jeep wrangler. For tires I put on Toyo MT's 285/75r17. And I changed the r&p's to 4.56's. I did a 4BT in my 60 first. Then I went to a 4BDT2. lol. And you are right, they are nice, but HEAVY... I put the turbo from the 4bt on the 4bd and that little Isuzu could run circles around that cummins. I am thinking you are correct that the ALH is 300#'s lighter than the 2F. I have the coolers all mounted now, just finishing up the coolant lines. I will load a pic once I figure out how. Lol.

Last edited by fjdiesel; April 16th, 2018 at 20:30. Reason: couldn't load pic
fjdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alh crank but no start no relay 109 Humpty VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 9 May 5th, 2016 21:40
ALH died while driving? Not timing belt or 109 relay Caddysmack VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 7 February 13th, 2013 17:36
2000 ALH dies randomly. Not relay 109 Drnknmnky13 TDI 101 38 January 19th, 2013 22:01
where is 109 relay 2000 golf alh NOT2FAST TDI 101 3 July 10th, 2011 16:32
HELP! No start! 109 relay? buzzing relay under hood? duteman VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 20 March 11th, 2002 12:45


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.11620 seconds with 12 queries
[Output: 75.98 Kb. compressed to 66.22 Kb. by saving 9.76 Kb. (12.84%)]