www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Power Enhancements

TDI Power Enhancements Discussions about increasing the power of your TDI engine. i.e. chips, injectors, powerboxes, clutches, etc. Handling, suspensions, wheels, type discussion should be put into the "Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)" forum. Non TDI vehicle related postings will be moved or removed. Please note the Performance Disclaimer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 8th, 2009, 18:34   #1
kooyajerms
grocery getter
 
kooyajerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pomona, Southern California
Fuel Economy: 39 MPG mixed @75MPH
Default mk3 move to mk4 3bar map sensor, iat transfer over also?

So I'm going to use the mk4 3bar map sensor and weld on the bracket to the new IC pipes.

Do I need to worry about anything else in regards to the IAT's being read from the different map sensor?

Obviously it needs to be soldered into the ecu still, but is that it? MAP/IAT sensor all in one without any other modifications? (Yes the ECU is getting remapped).

Thanks.


Jeremy

Last edited by kooyajerms; September 8th, 2009 at 18:51.
kooyajerms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 23:26   #2
turbo johan
Veteran Member
 
turbo johan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Default

Yes, goes without troubles.
I've done it a few times.
Mostly i now use 300 kPa sensor for soldering in the ecu as a replacement.
Bit easier..

Johan
__________________
VW Golf 6 GTD 270 Hp & 490 Nm DSG
---------------------------------------
Lupo PD 280 hp & 500 Nm.
Fastest ET 13.1 sec 1/4 mile @ 178 km/h
turbo johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 10:08   #3
12MPGHWY
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: el California
TDI(s): none
Default

what part number as sensor?

Do you remove the sensor itself from the housing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo johan
Yes, goes without troubles.
I've done it a few times.
Mostly i now use 300 kPa sensor for soldering in the ecu as a replacement.
Bit easier..

Johan
12MPGHWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 21:15   #4
jsrmonster
Veteran Member - TDIClub Enthusiast
 
jsrmonster's Avatar
Default

I just use the mk4 3bar map and install it into the ecu with piece of tubing, vacuum line, and adapters, and wire ties. It's a seamless integration, imho.

Take a wizzer and clean off the mounting tabs, and solder up the appropiate wires, and remap the "correct" sensor calibration into your tune.

Jeff
__________________
05.5Jetta DSG, 00Jetta 6spd race, 99.5Jetta Rocket ARL-PD150 6spd 2260, 2003.5 5.9L Cummins QCLB 4x4 Blue Monster, 00Passat1.8T, other tdi's: 97J, 98J, 99.5J2x, 00-C5 6spd - EFILive, HPTuner, Diablo Sport!
Never argue with an idiot.They will just bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
The beatings will continue until the morale improves!
Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement !
"DIESEL TUNING PROFESSIONAL" 1-5-3-6-2-4=;-)

jsrmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:23   #5
12MPGHWY
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: el California
TDI(s): none
Default

You put the Mk4 3bar map inside the ecu case?

So you take the map sensor itself out of its housing is that correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrmonster
I just use the mk4 3bar map and install it into the ecu with piece of tubing, vacuum line, and adapters, and wire ties. It's a seamless integration, imho.

Take a wizzer and clean off the mounting tabs, and solder up the appropiate wires, and remap the "correct" sensor calibration into your tune.

Jeff
12MPGHWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 01:44   #6
ryanp
 
ryanp's Avatar
Default

This is just the topic i've been looking for!

I've got this ECU:


and this MAP sensor:


I'm wanting to make them work an a 1Z TDi with a maf delete, it's been de-immobilised already but i also know i need to solder a socket and fit chips but i have NO idea what to do or what i need! how do i reflash the chips?

Any liks would help too!

Thanks!

Ryan
__________________

02M 6 Speed Conversions + Euro Parts - 6 Speed Setups for A4 + A5 platform,PD150 Intakes, TIP kits, Turbo's, Injectors as well as anything else!! PM Me! - Click HERE
ryanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 07:09   #7
Rub87
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

check the pics from satiro, it's the cleaned and best solution, this way you don't need separate map and iat sensor anymore..
__________________
'99 Black Ibiza GT90: 2260v, ARL bottomend, rosten rods 81mm slugs, 17:1 CR, 35/38mm exh/in valves, 02M, 305mm discs with Brembo calipers, OZ Superturismo 16"x7.5J, .............
Dyno'd area, Old VNT20 setup dyno'd 192whp
Rub87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 14:15   #8
12MPGHWY
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: el California
TDI(s): none
Default

where do you find these pictures?
12MPGHWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 14:38   #9
ryanp
 
ryanp's Avatar
Default

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...17#post2695817

This is satiro's topic!
__________________

02M 6 Speed Conversions + Euro Parts - 6 Speed Setups for A4 + A5 platform,PD150 Intakes, TIP kits, Turbo's, Injectors as well as anything else!! PM Me! - Click HERE
ryanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 16:08   #10
12MPGHWY
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: el California
TDI(s): none
Default

I did this last week and left the sensor in the cowl attached to a bracket.

Is there a better way to do it, such as a place to attach it to the MK3's stock inter cooler pipe like in place of the original intake temperature sensor?

What I am really looking for is an easy way to make a bushing to go from the Mk4 map sensor to the Mk3 intake temp sensor, or even better to purchase one.
12MPGHWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2009, 23:40   #11
ryanp
 
ryanp's Avatar
Default

I've got SS boost pipes so a friend is making up a SS boss and welding it in the place of the Mk3 OE IAT sensor, I'll then run the two MAP wires to the ECU.

Just need the wiring Pin outs!

Ryan
__________________

02M 6 Speed Conversions + Euro Parts - 6 Speed Setups for A4 + A5 platform,PD150 Intakes, TIP kits, Turbo's, Injectors as well as anything else!! PM Me! - Click HERE
ryanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2009, 20:40   #12
kooyajerms
grocery getter
 
kooyajerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pomona, Southern California
Fuel Economy: 39 MPG mixed @75MPH
Default

I have yet to do it Ryan, but wanted to post the answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rub87
Pin
Description
Wire color
Connected to
1
Signal ground
Brown/blue
pin 25 of the ECU
2
Temperature output voltage
Grey/green
pin 13 of the ECU
3
5V supply and reference voltage
Purple/red
pin 39 of the ECU
4
Pressure output voltage
Yellow/black
Pin 40 of the ECU

Here is the pin layout of a IC mount map sensor..

The middle wire in the ecu one is signal out, and I think the front is +5v (not sure so measure it), I only used 2 wires from the ecu (+5v and signal out), the ground and IAT signal I used from the separate IAT sensor found on the AFN engine..
Though there would be an audible in regards to how Ruben wired it.
kooyajerms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 02:40   #13
ryanp
 
ryanp's Avatar
Default

The wires are soldered into the ECU and i have had the boss made. Just need to weld it in where the old IAT sensor goes, De-pin the IAT and wire the new sensor up.

Hopefully when it's done i'll have enough pics to make some sort of guide to help anyone else who carries this out!

I'd also like to see some pics of the method described by Jeff and Johan! sounds cleaner and easier in some respects.
__________________

02M 6 Speed Conversions + Euro Parts - 6 Speed Setups for A4 + A5 platform,PD150 Intakes, TIP kits, Turbo's, Injectors as well as anything else!! PM Me! - Click HERE

Last edited by ryanp; January 2nd, 2010 at 03:24.
ryanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 08:15   #14
12MPGHWY
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: el California
TDI(s): none
Default

I considered doing that but then you lose the ability to replace the sensor without taking stuff apart and re soldering, which is a considerable advantage IMO

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanp
Yeah i found that wiring info and messaged it to Reuben, the wires are soldered into the ECU and i have had the boss made. Just need to weld it in where the old IAT sensor goes, De-pin the IAT and wire the new sensor up.

Hopefully when it's done i'll have enough pics to make some sort of guide to help anyone else who carries this out!

I'd also like to see some pics of the method described by Jeff and Johan! sounds cleaner and easier in some respects.
12MPGHWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2010, 16:55   #15
kooyajerms
grocery getter
 
kooyajerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pomona, Southern California
Fuel Economy: 39 MPG mixed @75MPH
Default

Here are the pictures and guide to installing the 3bar map sensor into a mk3 ecu


soldering points. front of ecu is where the plug is.


intake air temp sensor, cut and spliced into map sensor plug 1J0973704
look at those penclneck butt connectors =)


map sensor wires into map sensor plug. boss was from ebay for $20 and I jbwelded it. boost nipple is from ace hardware.
kooyajerms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16034 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 130.23 Kb. compressed to 108.50 Kb. by saving 21.73 Kb. (16.68%)]