www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 24th, 2006, 08:20   #1
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default Injection Pump: Bosch Part Number?

Anybody have the Bosch part number handy for an A4 manual trans 10mm injection pump?

Thanks...
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 14:47   #2
jasonTDI
 
jasonTDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Fuel Economy: 13.7 c, 12-18 towing hwy
Default

VE pump: FIE 0460 404 977

shaft seal on the TB side: BOS 2 460 283 001
__________________
Jason, Service work available. www.jasonTDR.com
Give a hand,www.akitas.org
jasonTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 14:54   #3
spine911
Veteran Member
 
spine911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: orange county,ca
Default

Are there any companies in the US that refurbishes/repairs an Injection Pump?
spine911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 21:21   #4
Grady
Veteran Member
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: NW Oregon
TDI(s): '01 Jetta
Default

Diesel Service Dealer
http://www.boschservice.com/ServiceL...ServiceDealer/

Explanation of Codes for Bosch Diesel Fuel Injection Service
http://www.boschservice.com/ServiceL...r/moreInfo.htm
Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2006, 12:24   #5
JSlatton
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Fuel Economy: enough
Default

I had very good service from these guys and highly recommend them:

Diesel Fuel injection Service
1700 SE Grand Ave.
Portland, OR 97214
(800) 547-8454
888-285-1213 - Kyle or Mark

injection pump #: 0 460 404 977
JSlatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2006, 16:38   #6
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

Did you have them rebuild a pump? How much did it cost you? They're quoting $800-$1000, and for that money I might as well just buy an already rebuilt pump...
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2006, 20:58   #7
Nutsnbolts
 
Nutsnbolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Albans, VT
Fuel Economy: Average is about 47 now (2010)
Default

Beta:

Are you having problems with your pump? If so, what are the symptoms? I thought my pump was going 2 months ago, and it turned out that my MAF was gone again, but due to the VW cluster "recall" the CEL wouldn't light unless the MAF was unplugged (if I unplugged it while it was running, the light wouldn't come on at all. If it was unplugged when I started it, then I would get a CEL). I was getting heavy smoke, poor mileage, and erratic power off idle. I'm VERY concerned about this ULSD changeover, since I've got the miles on my pump. I'll be able to replace the seals (and post the procedure here!!!!!), but it's a job I'm hoping I don't have to do for a while, since I just did the TB. Anyway, let me know...

-Rich
__________________
548,000 miles...and counting!

2000 Jetta, M1TDT since 20K, RC2, PP520s, W8 panel, front/rear fogs, Pseat w/mem. Other cars:1968 Chrysler 300 2dr HT
Nutsnbolts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 08:48   #8
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

I'm getting a "Quanity Adjuster limit reached" code. This started after I took the pump apart to replace the seal between the upper and lower halves. I think I must have damaged some delicate part at that time.

I'd love to find out it is something cheaper, but my guess is that it's not.
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 11:16   #9
quartersaw
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Berne,NY
Fuel Economy: Passat:44mpg '10 DSW:36MPG :-(,Golf 52MPG
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MITBeta
I'm getting a "Quanity Adjuster limit reached" code. This started after I took the pump apart to replace the seal between the upper and lower halves. I think I must have damaged some delicate part at that time.

I'd love to find out it is something cheaper, but my guess is that it's not.
Try replacing the temp. sensor inside the top of the pump....

Last edited by quartersaw; August 30th, 2006 at 11:19.
quartersaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 11:38   #10
dieseldorf
top post dawg
 
dieseldorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: MA
Default

the number of BOSCH repair shops willing and able to repair these VE pumps is tiny. Few will want to touch it.
dieseldorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 11:50   #11
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

I have already replaced the temp sensor and it did not help.
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2006, 08:12   #12
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

Actually, replacing the temp sensor did help for a few days, but then I got the error again...
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2006, 19:08   #13
eetsoot
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oxnard, Ca (at least for now!)
Fuel Economy: 38/44/52
Default

When you took the top half of the pump off did you mark it and realign it when you reinstalled? I'm wondering if you just need to do a hammer mod. Do you have a vagcom? If so read group one and tell us what your Injection quantity is. It maybe just a matter of slightly losening the top half and lightly tapping it to get the IQ back in line. Do not do this unless you have a vagcom and someone in the car to turn it off incase you get a run away.
__________________
RC3, VNT17, B203s, 11mm pump, G60/VR6 clutch, ecodes, Euro cluster
eetsoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 16:58   #14
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

I did mark the pump, and when reassembling the IQ was off the charts high. I eventually got it dialed down incrementally to 2.8, but at every step got the error.

It's still at 2.8.
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2006, 08:06   #15
MITBeta
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston's Metro South-West
Default

Anybody know where I can find a relatively inexpensive replacement pump?
MITBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16001 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 117.58 Kb. compressed to 96.96 Kb. by saving 20.62 Kb. (17.53%)]