Car wont start - Need Help ASAP

York

TDI
2006 Jetta
I’m new to TDICLUB so I apologize if this post is in the wrong location.

My wife and kids are in Atlanta for Thanksgiving, I am not with them. I can only tell you what she sees and hears.
We have a 2006 Jetta 1.9 TDI with 170,000 miles. Currently the car will turn over but will not start. A quick history lesson on the car. After 2 days of sitting the battery will be dead. Has been like that since I bought it a year ago (possibly a bad door sensor). Typically, I just disconnect the battery until I drive it. Also, the upper intercooler hose had a hole in it. I replaced it the day of the trip. Old hose had black oil in it.

Tuesday my wife drove the car to Atlanta from Nashville with no issues. Friday, after sitting for 3 days the battery is dead (she didn’t disconnect it). They tried to jump the car off with a truck but no luck. After 2 hours of charging from the truck and 25+ attempts to start it (lights come on but will not turn over), we have declared a bad battery and Autozone confirmed. Got a new one, now the car will turn over but will not fire. (This is where I need help). I have reviewed http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=199398 and fall in situation #5. I cannot check the ASV at this time. Is there anything else to check before addressing the ASV?

Possible issues to think about –
(1) The car is parked in the driveway on a steep incline with almost a half tank of gas. – adding more gas soon. This seems like the obvious reason but it does have close to half tank of gas. Not sure if this is a known issue.
(2) 25+ attempts to start it – could this have broken something
(3) Could the ASV have gunked up after sitting for 3 days. – Old intercooler hose did have black oil in it. Not sure if that’s normal.
(4) Could this be an immobilizer problem – immobilizer goes off when she tries to start it.
(5) Remember, the car ran fine until the battery died on the steep incline