OEM, Exide, or Interstate for new battery?

treeline

TDI
'98 Jetta TDI
I know there was a huge battery thread already and I read a lot of it but was wondering if I could get an answer for my more specific situation.

I need to get a new battery for my 98 Jetta TDi. (And I'm a relative newbie). Will be in thick of Maine winter over the next several months. Everyone tells me I need to get a good one, and I've tried to follow most of the battery thread (though find much of the jargon confusing). Is the only place I can get an OEM battery at a dealership? The VW mechanic where I get work done on my car is the main guy who works with VWs in the area and is associated with VW but is not a dealer.. but he carries Exide batteries. His price was rated at $130 for the battery for my car (seems high?) From some of the battery discussion it sounds like OEM batteries are cheaper but I don't know where I can actually get one and if they have an actual brand-name, or just come right from a dealer somewhere.

The other battery recommended to me was Interstate, and one mechanic said he'd recommend Interstate over an Exide. I'm inclined to trust my VW mechanic (who sells an Exide) - they've done a lot of good work on my car. But I'm all about second opinions!

Would love to hear feedback - thanks!

T_D_I_POWER

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 VW PASSAT GLS TDI '06 Audi A4 q Avant 6-Spd Sport Pkg
If I were you I won't get the VW OE batt. from the stealership. Get an OEM one, Excide, Interstate or Energizer. Cheaper to buy and you get plenty of cranking juice.

I got mine from Sams, an Enegizer E48 875 CA, 700 CCA for $65 - $10 core = $55. That's $0.06/CA and $0.08/CCA.

Last edited:

kooyajerms

grocery getter
TDI
97 B4V (mine), 11 x5 35d (hers) 04 V10 (that one you want), 2014 Q7 (mom's) 74 Shasta 1400