Appalachian Diesel Works - Asheville, NC

zortmo

TDI
99, 01, 06
I would like to recommend Daniel Grindstaff near Asheville, NC. He has worked on two of the TDI's in our family. Daniel replaced my wife's 06 DSG flywheel. On my son's 03, the timing belt broke and caused damage to the valves but fortunately no cylinder wall damage. Daniel did a rebuild on this engine and it runs great. My son lives in Asheville near ADW shop.

I was a line mechanic at an Atlanta Porsche/Audi dealership when I was younger. At almost 60 I now try to avoid major work in my garage shop. I drive three hours to ADW for major repairs. Daniel is passionate about TDI's and IMO, a trustworthy and skilled mechanic.

Mike Asher

terrydtdi

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 MK4 TDI Jetta 5spd
Daniel does great work, I would highly recomend using them. Lots of knowledge there with Daniel and Landon, quality people.

d2305

Veteran Member
TDI
14 Ram EcoDiesel
The don't want my business. Never called me back, and didn't know how much they charged for a timing belt replacement.

Bob_Fout

Oil Wanker
TDI
2003 Jetta - Alaska Green (sold) / 2015 GTI 2.0T
Did Daniel take over for Landon? Or both still wrenching on TDIs?

Ski in NC

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Jetta ALH 5sp stock
The don't want my business. Never called me back, and didn't know how much they charged for a timing belt replacement.
Small shops can get overwhelmed by work, calls and emails. Also, some projects blossom in scope and screw up all others on the schedule. Sometimes not every request gets a response. Nature of the business. And the folks try to have a life outside of work, too.

paramedick

TDIClub Enthusiast, Vendor
TDI
2015 Audi Q5 TDI
I'm sure that was a aberration. Perhaps when Daniel took over for Landon? Please give them another chance.

I can highly recommend ADW. I've wrenched with both mechanics and they are very competent!

ps Landon still pitches in when needed

loudspl

Veteran Member
TDI
02 ASV w/ 02J