TDIClub Forums

TDIClub Forums (http://forums.tdiclub.com/index.php)
-   OBD Scanners (http://forums.tdiclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Resell of a VCDS? (http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=472113)

tncrom January 2nd, 2017 18:57

Resell of a VCDS?
 
Hi...

I have about 80K miles on my 2013 Passat TDI. I'm getting a CEL (I think cold-related), haven't had much luck diagnosing, and it's become clear that I either get a VCDS or let the dealer handle. I'd like to keep the car for another 40K and turn it in at 120K (which is when the wtys on the turbo and ad blue htr go bye-bye). So here's my question: If I buy the $200 VCDS, and later want to sell it, is there a market for a used VCDS? I'm not sure if I'd have registered my VIN on it when I sell it, so it might have all three VINS still available, or possibly only two. Just wondering if folks sell VCDSs on this forum somewhere. I've definitely seen them on EBAY.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Chris

mishkaya January 2nd, 2017 19:05

You might be able to find someone local to you to scan your car, in which case you wouldn't even need to purchase VCDS. Where are you located in Iowa?

tncrom January 2nd, 2017 19:50

Eastern Iowa,....just west of Iowa City. Work in Cedar Rapids

tadawson January 2nd, 2017 22:39

Only the wireless is VIN locked - the $200-ish MicroCan does not know or care how many cars it is used on.

- Tim

meerschm January 3rd, 2017 03:35

Uwe just posted updates on the VCDS line of interfaces. many things have changed, including vehicle vin count limits on cable interfaces.


http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...t-Introduction
the new version of the wired interface does come with VIN limits, structured to prices.

but these limits only apply to modification (basic settings, coding...)

no limit will be placed on reading codes or data, or resetting failure codes.

the $200 version is a bargain. at that price, two uses can pay for the whole thing, compared to a trip to the dealer.

you should not have any problem selling should you decide to, but the interface and VCDS also make a pretty good OBD-II reader for other cars.

and there is an active for sale area here

http://forums.tdiclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16

Lightflyer1 January 3rd, 2017 15:51

and there is also the choice to rent one.

tncrom January 3rd, 2017 19:40

Thanks everyone. Turns out a buddy of mine has a VCDS. Plan to borrow this weekend and see what's up. May still eventually buy the $200 as like one of you stated, that's maybe a couple of trips to the dealer.

tadawson January 3rd, 2017 21:26

Yeah, saw that later. All I can say is I'm glad I already own mine . . . I find it far harder to buy into tools deliberately restricted/crippled in software . . .

- Tim

16vjohn March 11th, 2017 09:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by tadawson (Post 5213461)
Yeah, saw that later. All I can say is I'm glad I already own mine . . . I find it far harder to buy into tools deliberately restricted/crippled in software . . .

- Tim

Fully agree. Came here to make sure the news was true. I was going to buy one today until i saw the restrictions. Especially when they tell me the VINs are hard coded. So, if you sell the car you're SOL on licenses. Sad. Ill just keep borrowing from friends with the older version.

AnotherPerson March 11th, 2017 11:27

They will allow you to upgrade your 3vin package to 10vin or unlimited. So your not hosed. But if you do buy it and decide to sell it after using 1 vin, or now even older interfaces. You have to pay rosstech $100 transfer fee to be able to even use there forums on a legit product.

JSWTDI09 March 11th, 2017 11:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by 16vjohn (Post 5248961)
I was going to buy one today until i saw the restrictions. Especially when they tell me the VINs are hard coded. So, if you sell the car you're SOL on licenses. Sad. Ill just keep borrowing from friends with the older version.

You can still purchase a wireless or a wired VCDS interface with unlimited VINs, you just have to pay more for it. The idea is to make it cheaper for the enthusiast who only needs 3 (or 10) VIN capability. If you buying new and you want unlimited VIN capability, you just have to be willing to pay for it.

Have Fun!

Don

P.S. Buying a used interface cable is also an option, unless you want/need support from Ross-Tech.

16vjohn March 11th, 2017 14:36

I've had dozens of VW/Audi products, in a matter of a few years I will exhaust the 3 VINs easily. Sure, I can shell out more money to get around that. The point of my comment is real enthusiasts not engaged in commercial operations will be impacted.

That said, I do not condone or recommend intellectual property violations by anyone. More especially that of Chinese companies with seemingly endless ability to import products that do just that. I will say that this is exactly the type of behavior that fuels the rip-off market. If competition of the last 20 years has taught anybody, anything, it's that the harder you push the harder the market will push back. With this 3 VIN limit nonsense, I believe they've cemented themselves into a corner. This is exactly what the consumer gets when there is no viable competition.

I acknowledge and appreciate their contributions to this site and the TDI community... in the past... But I will not now, not ever support an engineered limitation that's clearly a money grab. There should be a way that I can prove I sold a car and have the VIN removed from my rightfully purchased device. If the real goal is to get more money out of commercial operations and not injure enthusiasts, there would be a way to do this. I literally logged on to Ross-Tech's site this morning to buy a cable until I read of the new limitations.

I'm sure some of you will find a way to argue the point... I really don't care. Like I said, I'll just keep borrowing cables that won't cost me anything.

antikid March 12th, 2017 11:08

i just sold my micro-can on vwvortex for 150. yes there is a market!

Revpeach March 12th, 2017 12:42

I have a miceo-can
 
I Live in Monticello, IA and have a micro-can for sale for $ 125, if you're interested. Turned in my Jetta so I don't need it anymore. PM if interested.

Nevada_TDI March 13th, 2017 12:43

As far as I know my VCDS doesn't have a VIN limitation, but I have never put Vin's in, so I really don't know. I have scanned a couple dozen cars so far and never entered their VIN's. I purchased my cable 8 or 9 years ago; maybe this is a fairly new thing I don't know about.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017

Page generated in 0.09136 seconds with 8 queries
[Output: 16.77 Kb. compressed to 16.04 Kb. by saving 0.73 Kb. (4.34%)]