Swapping seats - 2000 Jetta VR6 Leather into 2001 Jetta TDI Cloth -plug ins different

euphoria18_79

TDI
2001 VW Jetta
Swapping seats - 2000 Jetta VR6 Leather into 2001 Jetta TDI Cloth -UPDATE

I am not very good with vehicles, and have done numerous searches online, but not sure what to do.
I drive a 2001 Jetta TDI that came with the cloth package.
I purchased a wrecked 2000 Jetta VR6 GLS with the leather package
I have swapped all the door panels, but am now working on the seats. I have taken the front leather seats out of the VR6, and have taken the passenger side out of the TDi. I noticed that there is a black, flat connector in the TDI that is not part of the VR6. The drivers side appears to have 2 different connectors.
so, can i do this? or what do i need to do?
Thanks everyone
Chris
Just to add, both seats are heated, neither have power.

Last edited:

CGDoig

Veteran Member
TDI
05 Jetta GLS MKIV
I think you'll have to figure out which wire does what and splice the old connector onto the new seats.

Lug_Nut

TDIClub Enthusiast, Pre-Forum Veteran Member
TDI
idi: 1988 Bolens DGT1700H, the other oil burner: 1967 Saab Sonett II two stroke
I noticed that there is a black, flat connector in the TDI that is not part of the VR6.
what do i need to do?
You need to tell us how many wires are in that flat connector and what color the insulating jackets on each of those wires are.

They should be plug & play. The driver's seat does have an additional connector from the seatbelt buckle that the passenger's side does not have. Be sure you aren't comparing the left of one seat and the right of the other.

At worst, swap the cushions and skins. I just finished re-doing a 2 door GL Golf with a pair of heated leather GLX Jetta leathers. I kept the 2 door seat frames for their lift and tip movement for rear seat access.

Last edited:

LNXGUY

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'05 Jetta TDI Wagon
Last edited:

euphoria18_79

TDI
2001 VW Jetta