TDIClub Forums

TDIClub Forums (http://forums.tdiclub.com/index.php)
-   OBD Scanners (http://forums.tdiclub.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   VCDS Works but ScanGauge does not (http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=505764)

gbrandt February 26th, 2020 15:07

VCDS Works but ScanGauge does not
 
Hi,

I have an ASV 1.9 TDI installed in my Vanagon (T3). I have a scangauge that simply will not connect to the ECU. Actually I have two, one much newer than the other and they both do not connect.

I have a VCDS (Vag-com) that connects perfectly well.

My used pins on the OBDII connector are 4, 7, 15 and 16

I have tried forcing KWP protocols with no success. Any idea on what may be going on?

Thanks,
Gregor

Rxfire February 27th, 2020 02:41

I fried a ScanGuage hooking up to a TDI with an aftermarket radio in it. Do your ScanGuages work on other cars? Mine would not work at all after that incident.

gbrandt February 27th, 2020 10:53

The scangauges do work on other vehicles.

I am now thinking that it's the missing ground on pin 5.

Someone has also told me that switched power to pin 1 is also required but I see no evidence for this elsewhere.

oilhammer February 27th, 2020 12:30

I do not have any help for you other than to say (and you probably already knew this) that VCDS uses the native VAG protocols and connections at the DLC. A Scangauge (or any other generic OBD2 device) will only use the generic part of the DLC.

This may help you decipher what you need and what is missing:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On-boa...stic_connector

gbrandt February 27th, 2020 13:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by oilhammer (Post 5575275)
I do not have any help for you other than to say (and you probably already knew this) that VCDS uses the native VAG protocols and connections at the DLC. A Scangauge (or any other generic OBD2 device) will only use the generic part of the DLC.
This may help you decipher what you need and what is missing:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On-boa...stic_connector

Ok, I can see the VW used pin 1 for switched power, but odds are very good the ScanGauge would not use that since the ScanGauge is a universal product. I'm putting my money on grounding pin 5. Will update after I've done that.

Gregor

gbrandt May 22nd, 2020 16:38

Ok, grounded pin 5 and still no success. No idea whats going on now.

Jetta_Pilot May 23rd, 2020 08:30

Why not contact the people at Scangauge and ask them?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017

Page generated in 0.08857 seconds with 8 queries
[Output: 7.70 Kb. compressed to 7.35 Kb. by saving 0.35 Kb. (4.53%)]