Why I Have an All-Diesel Fleet

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
The people who repair cars, small power equipement and motorcycles like it:

The ethanol boosters aren't troubled that only a fraction of the 240 million cars and trucks on the road today can run with ethanol blends higher than 10%. It can damage engines and corrode automotive pipes, as well as impair some safety features, especially in older vehicles. It can also overwhelm pollution control systems like catalytic converters. The malfunctions multiply in other products that use gas, such as boats, snowmobiles, lawnmowers, chainsaws, etc.

kcfoxie

Veteran Member
TDI
'12 6-spd JSW
Ok, what about a diesel scooter.

Blender.

um... portable wax machine...

(I'm shocked you found a diesel chainsaw)

cessna

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta
I'm a farmer that is an investor in 2 biodiesel and 3 ethanol plants. I've been using E85 to blend my own 50/50 eth/gasoline fuel and using it in a 1992 Toyota 4x4 for almost 8 years. 30% eth in a 1995 Ford Aspire for 7 years and 10% in a 2 cycle Lawnboy that needs oil added to the fuel for at least 10 years. I must be lucky because the mechanics aren't loving me. Also, did you realize that the subsidies that the government is paying out to ethanol is about 1/3 the amount that farmers used to get for subsidies because of cheap commodity prices. Most of the present Farm Bill goes to Food Stamps and such now.You folks that hate ethanol are just falling for the propaganda the Grocery Manufacturers are feeding you. They're just a bunch of crooks that are mad because they can't steal corn and other commodities anymore. Even at $7 per bushel(56 lbs. per bushel) corn that was attained because of investment fund buying a bag of corn chips has just pennies worth of corn in the bag---figure it out yourself. Corn is less than $4 now but do you see prices coming down in the grocery store? This is the problem with less than 2% of the population being farmers--