Boston Area Gel Issues

btcost

Veteran Member
TDI
'12 JSW, '00 Jetta (totaled 12/23/10), 1987 M-B 300D
Hey everyone! Seeing if anyone else has had their fuel gel up this past week!

I’ve been driving diesels since 2002 (15 years) and I’ve never had a car gel up!
Makes me think the fuel distributer didn’t treat the last batch?

My 07 MB gelled up in VT (where it hit -20)
My 15 sportwagen gelled in my driveway (Boston)
And my fathers 17’ MB gelled in his driveway (Boston)

Fahrvegnugen

Veteran Member
TDI
01 golf 1.9 alh gls silver
I think my fuel sender check valve got clogged. Fuel doesn’t need to do much gelling if that isn’t drilled out I guess. Anything could clog it but I think the cold weather might gel treated fuel that is mixed with untreated fuel at the filling station. Is The power service 9-1-1 sold out everywhere? If so, the suppliers probably didn’t weatherize good enough

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW
A nearby TDI owner and IDParts customer had his '99.5 Golf quit at the end of my street on Sunday. I'm not sure if it was fuel gelling or a bad crank position sensor, which took out my '99.5 a couple winters ago. But I'm starting to see a pattern with cars fueled in MA.

btcost

Veteran Member
TDI
One car the 07 R-class was fueled at RoJo’s in Norwood. It gelled , but to be fair I was in VT and it hit -20

My VW (2015) and my Dad’s MB were both fired on RT 138. Where it meets Route 128. Canton /Milton line

Looks like that fuel was not treated!

btcost

Veteran Member
TDI
Or not treated enough.
Some white bottle power service through the winter at each fill up costs very little and avoids gelling issues.

The point of this thread is that I know all this. Even the winter of 2015, where the average temp in Boston was 16 degrees! I had zero issues. No treatment! I stopped treating my fuel because it was a waste of time. Never gelled, 15 years!