2003 Volkswagen Jetta TDI price inquiry.

BoiseTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
96 Golf - SOLD
Reflex Silver, gray interior, manual transmission, excellent tires, 51k.

What would be a good price? He's asking $18,200. Sounds decent but you guys are the experts. =)

Last edited:

schwechel

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta, Galactic Blue
BoiseTDI said:
Reflex Silver, gray interior, manual transmission, excellent tires, 51k.

What would be a good price? He's asking $18,200. Sounds decent but you guys are the experts. =)
I'm not an expert (by far) but it sounds a little high. Does it have any modifications done to it? What about trim? (GL, GLS)

BoiseTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
96 Golf - SOLD
schwechel said:
I'm not an expert (by far) but it sounds a little high. Does it have any modifications done to it? What about trim? (GL, GLS)
No mods. Just a gls wagon, with manual. Looks clean. He dropped price to $17.2k. I'm trying to talk him down to $16-16.5k, then we would talk.

BoiseTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
96 Golf - SOLD
oilhammer said:
5 speed wagon, he may get his asking price.
Are 5 speeds worth more? If so why? I thought autos were always worth more. Is there something wrong with the auto tranys for these?

Thanks!

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
BoiseTDI said:
Is there something wrong with the auto tranys for these?

Thanks!
Hahaha....yes. Yes there is.

But really you have to remember a couple things. First, one of the main driving forces for people to buy a TDI is fuel economy. And the manual transmission does a better job. The second thing is that the economy comes at a decent level of performance. Again, the slushbox trumps a lot of that. Then the fact that many TDI owners drive their cars a LOT. Which means usually a lot of highway miles, in which case you really are better of with a proper manual gearbox.